Website feedback

Reviews of El Jardin Hostal Asuncion Hostel

Azara 941 Between Av. EEUU y Tacuary, Asuncion, Paraguay

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Asuncion?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 45 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Fantastic vibe. Best place I have stayed in 2 months of travelling!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Very cool hostel and a good atmosphere. Near to the main part of the city centre and easy to walk to the main spots in the city with plenty of restaurants nearby and a supermarket just a few minutes away. The kittens were the best bit though.

Disliked: Far from the bus station but the hostel is in a better area anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved how it felt like a little oasis in the center of the city. Everything made me feel welcomed and at home.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very nice common area, good atmosphere with the staff and other travellers, a very cute kitten :D

Disliked: The first night, I had to change the room in the middle of the night because the roof was leaking and water dripped next to my bed. The staff noticed and woke me up, though.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: swimmng pool. air conditioned (some rooms). nice park. very good location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The best hostel I ever stayed in! It has a wonderful garden/ sitting area with a swimming pool to cool down from the exhausting Asuncion heat...Tuna who works there is the best! She made everyone feel at home like if they were in the company of their best friends from childhood. Highly recommended!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


23 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is one of my favourite hostels from my whole trip. It's a very easy-going, welcoming place, situated all around a garden as the name suggests. It feels like a hippie camp, with colourful decor and higgledypiggledy layout. There is an above-ground pool large enough for relaxing and splashing about in. Although you have to walk through the garden to get to he showers (which didn't bother me), they are hot and powerful. The garden was mostly earth rather than lawn due to rain, but I didn't note this as an issue until I looked at the pictures here again. Despite walking over that and into the buildings all the time, I felt it was perfectly clean within the parameters of the style of the place. The wi-fi was generally good. There is an honesty tab for buying beers, the bottles of which they recycle. You are given a key to the front door, so it's very secure. Like everywhere in Paraguay, it's very cheap. Finally, I met nice people there.

Disliked: Be aware that the building does not display a hostel sign so make sure you know the exact address or it is very difficult to find. The eight-bed dorm, unlike the others, doesn't include breakfast; I only realized this towards the end of my stay and felt quite awkward as I'd been eating it. There were some problems with the electricity and at those times the wi-fi. The biggest issue for me will seem contradictory as, although I really liked the place and met interesting people, I often felt pretty lonely there. I haven't penalized the hostel much for this as it may have been just that stage of my trip, but it wasn't helped by the fact that Thomas was occupied with his visiting family and also therefore didn't open the bar at all. The relatively few other guests were either in groups and went out on their own or quite quiet. I would have really liked to have gone out in Asunción but didn't feel like I could just invite myself along. Opening the bar, at least at weekends, would have been more conducive to evening socializing. It's fair enough if at times the owners are not in a position to do that themselves, but then they should get someone to fill in.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: central locationgood, relaxed atmosphereterrace gardenfriendliness of the staff. Sonja may not have spoken a word of English but she was very hospitable and couldn't do enough to help

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spacious dorms with aircon or fan (which you need in Paraguay). Owners and staff are very nice and helpful. The owners speak good English and have travelled a lot themselves. Showers are powerful and hot. It`s easily reached by bus from the terminal. The sights are close by.

Disliked: Doors don´t have locks (but there are lockers inside and the front door is always locked). Showers only have a curtain, no door or lock and there`s no place to put your stuff, you can only hang things outside the shower. The breakfast is put on a table in an area with flies and mosquitoes, so the fruit and jam can have flies in it. Could be solved easily by providing the jam and dulce de leche in little cups (like a lot of other hostels do).

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: No question is a problemen for the Swedish owner. In perfect English he can tell you everything about Paraguay.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability