Website feedback

Reviews of Black Cat Hostel Asuncion Hostel

Eligio Ayala 129 between Yegros and Independencia, Asuncion, Paraguay

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 82%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Asuncion?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 82%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 45 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Atmosphere, help from the staff when I wanted to go somewhere. The cat ( not black, but black and white)

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Kind reception, very helpful by printing us maps and help with taxi. We had a vanity in our room with a tv. Breakfast was included with room.

Disliked: Noisy late at night and early in the morning with one group of males celebrating loudly. Breakfast was very limited with artificial orange juice when Paraguay has fresh oranges everywhere! Small upgrades to meal would be nice.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, great location.

Disliked: Although the beds were comfy, the plastic covers got in the way of sleeping, whether it's your bed or someone else's. This has been mentioned numerous times

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating


21 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I arrived before six in the morning, and they let me have my bed immediately, which was nice of them. It's a compact labyrinth of rooms, with a small but nice courtyard and roof terrace. The bathrooms are proper separate ones rather than cubicles. There is a nice cat called Matias.

Disliked: The plastic on the beds is as annoying as other reviewers have described: it is far noisier than any other covered mattress I have experienced. I first went to bed in the pitch blackness and the noise/feel made me assume that it had no sheets and thus I slept on top of the blanket, but it turned out that it had in fact been made. The hostel claims to have a bar and a cafe in its entry here, but it does not, which was a let-down as a bar provides a social focus. The swimming pool is as tiny as it looks in the photo, but a bigger problem was that it was dirty (I thought it was just permanently stained but it swirled around when I moved the water) and had the cleaning machine leaning into it for the whole of my stay, so I couldn't even use it to cool off. Breakfast isn't very good. More seriously, I booked a fourteen-bed dorm but got a sixteen-bed one, the fourteen not actually existing. I would have booked the sixteen if that were what had been listed, but am offended by being lied to. There is no justification for it. Similarly, the description said that the room included bottled water, which I thought was an unusual bonus, but when I asked for a bottle of water I had to pay for it. The room is also like a converted garage or something and has no window, which makes it like a cave and difficult to wake up in the morning. They don't recycle. I was looking forward to a real social buzz but it wasn't there, which was really disappointing.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Bus drops you off at the door (no.8)

Disliked: Lots of mosquitoes dead and alive, plastic mattress covers

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and very helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean rooms and friendly staff. Nice sunny terrace and TV room. Awesome location with cheap Icecream parlour across the road

Disliked: Weird plastic protectors on the beds made lots of noise when you moved in your sleep-lots of people talked about this! Average breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Lovely place to stay in Asuncion, I stayed here many times during my trip in South America, the best location, very safe to walk around, good breakfast and always clean, I always stay at the 8 beds dorm, very comfy and spacious. Best hostel in Paraguay!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff and other guests. Wifi very reliable and fast. Such a nice atmosphere, recommended !!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the review, the satisfaction of our guests is our main goal and we are happy that you had a good time here, we wish you a safe trip!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cosy place. Close to city and good bus connections around the city. Helpful staff. Quiet place. Big dorm room.And many fans.

Disliked: The plastic cover underneath the sheet. It´s sweaty enough :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review, we are glad that we could help you with good information, and we understand the comment about the plastic cover for the matresses but we decided to use them for hygienic reasons, always taking care of the best for our guests.

Check Availability