Website feedback

Reviews of Marken Gjestehus Hostel Bergen Hostel

Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017, Bergen, Norway

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 82%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

From the opening in 1997, we have received great responses and feedback from our guests, saying that the accommodation we offer is excellent, modern and reasonably priced. We wish to maintain these essential factors , and to continue giving our guests the same up-to-date accommodation at the same low price. In 2014 we have renovated and redecorated, and everything looks fresh and modern.

A) For short stays (less than 3 days) cancellations must be done at the latest one day before arrival, before 16.30. (4.30 pm)
B) 3 NO - SHOW; the guest must then pay for at least 1 day and at the most 3 days.
B) 1 For longer stays (3 days or more) cancellation must be done 14 days before. If not the guest must pay for at least 1 day and at most 3 days

For Non-Refundable bookings: the hostel is entitle to charge your credit card up to 24 hours after the booking was made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bergen?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Easy to arrive,near downtown and nice views of the city from the windows

Disliked: Really nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It was so clean, with a bright and airy decor. It was nice to have so many washrooms available and the atmosphere was so friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was a great hostel. It was central in Bergen and close to the station. It was clean, bright and friendly with great amenities including a well stocked kitchen, dining area and tv/lounge room.Lockers were easy to use, accessible to everyone (came with your room key) and large enough to fit a suitcase.It was also nice and quiet.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We arrived when the reception was already closed but they prepared everything and told us via email how to get into the room we would stay. There we found the room key, bed-linen and more information. It was a 10-bed-female-dorm which looked nice and was spacious, there were lockers in a separate room, a big mirror and a huge bathroom. In the hostel you can find many bathrooms and showers and there were a few places where you could hang out with other travellers. The location is great, very close to the train station. The receptionist was friendly and also the people who cleaned the room talked to us and were friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for this excellent review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the location of our guesthouse and our friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon :-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed in a 10 bed female dorm. It had it's own bathroom and lockers. There were also plenty of other toilets/bathrooms available. Location is good, right near the bus/train station. It is quiet. Good internet and large sitting area for meals. Well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: Kitchen could have been cleaned more regularly.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed here for one night only and it was a pleasant stay. I stayed in a ten people dorm. The room is spacious and we have our own bathroom. The bathroom was clean and they provide toiletries as well. ( left by other travellers, but still ) the staff there are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely come back again!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice layout with clean rooms and bathrooms and massive free storage lockers that come with a key.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate you writing this great review! We are happy to hear that you liked our facilities and the cleanliness of our Guesthouse. We wish to welcome you back to stay with us again this summer :-)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is really cute and has a cozy feeling to it. Only here for one night, but the layout of the 4-bed dorm was great with a spectacular view of the city as e guesthouse is on the 4th floor. The rooms were nicely decorated and the lockers were nice and big to fit everything. It is Ina. Good location and super close to the train station, was tricky to find at first.

Disliked: I think the address of the hostel should change to the actual street address of the entrance, this would have made it much easier to find.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The dorm room had its own bathroom and it was very spacious. There were also lots of couches and areas where you can socialize with other guests. The location was pretty amazinc

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability