Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Backpackers Skopje Skopje Hostel

Petar Acev 11, Skopje, North Macedonia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 83%

Location 85%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 89%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • Dryer
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Skopje?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 83%

Location 85%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating


20 Sep 2019

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nice little hostel super close to the bus terminal. Amazing staff, highly recommended!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The top chillout roof area...very nice host who can help you with anything from destination to philosophy

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere and friendly outgoing staff.

Disliked: Poor facilities

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, a very sweet couple that made us feel like home. Bed was comfy and clean as well as kitchen and the whole hostel. Rooftop patio rocks! It's a must see! Enjoyed meeting people and hanging out. You can see they put a lot of effort making this place nice and cozy with all the fun drawings on the walls! Right next to main bus and rail station and a few minutes walk from downtown and all the places to see. My husband and I loved it, will come back for sure!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The veyr friendly and funny host (he is an actor) welcomed us openheartedly, although he did not show the sensitivity to let us settle with our bags before wanting to show us everything. The kitchen is very small and as it mostly occurs in the balkan, the people there smoke a lot. I mean a lot. So if you cannot stand the smoke, backpackers is not recommended. They have an almost roof terrace which is, sadly, only suited in the winter. There is no other chill room.The hostel is located 100 meters away from the bus station, so do not take a taxi, they will drive you around for about 10 minutes and want you to pay 100 denars for that. Don't pay more or just walk it is really 2 minutes walking.Besides the cold (in winter, make sure you ask for warming up the room), our stay went really well. We went to shave at a local barber shop in the old fashioned way with all the foam and everything together with the host for 100 denars, which is approximately 1 euro 70 cents.An overall positive impression, despite the cold, the smoke and the somewhat unwelcoming bathroom facilities is my verdict.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review , but we want to remind you that during the time you were here the hostel was closed (because of some internal reasons), and as we told you before we just wanted to make you a favor and opened room for you. And we want to inform YOU and others that our hostel during the working season is NON SMOKING hostel, and it doesnt look the way it looked when you were here. We hope to see you some other time and show you the real image of the hostel. Best regards !

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating


08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: The location is very near to the bus station even though it is a but tricky to find without the help of locals, maybe signs leading to the property should be more visible. But it's a great hostel with clean and functioning amenities! I love how the toilet smells like bubblegum haha the rooms are spacious and fun and the chilling zone at the top floor is good for relaxing! The staff is friendly and helpful as well I loved my stay there.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel is very close to the train/bus station, within a walking distance from the center of Skopje. Very kind lady working there. Nice, comfy beds. Good , traditional, restaurant next to the hostel.

Disliked: When we arrived we were given the double bed (kind gesture) in the Linea Room, despite the fact that we had booked for the Smurfs Room at an additional cost. Think we could have been asked, guess the Smurfs Rooms was empty from guests and owner did not want to give it to us. Did not receive the 'welcome drink' and paid the whole amount. I don't know if it has happened to other travellers.Breakfast was poor and not nutritious. One doughnut with praline spread for each guest, plus tea or instant coffee.We did not receive any info about the hostel upon arrival (what time the breakfast is served etc), no one showed us the place. We just had to ask. The chill out area was closed the first night. The other night it was open, but the owner ignored us -did not even say 'hi'-. The place felt very dusty the first night, but very tidy and clean the other.We did not feel welcome at all. The host was NOT unfriendly or rude, but was rather indifferent towards us. No hospitality. We had great expectations and felt he ignored us on purpose. Hope it doesn't have to do with the fact that we are from Greece, 'cause this would be really sad. It felt weird.FYROM , however, is a great country, very beautiful, with amazing, friendly people and we had a great time there, when not staying at the hostel.


The property's response is

Dear Guest, first of all - La Linea double bed was given to you after we ASKED you, and beside that you were impressed of the idea. Second - like we do with every guest, we did the same with you - INFO about the hostel upon arrive. Third - the chill out area is ALWAYS opened (its a balcony) no matter if the door is wide opened or not. We are really sorry if you felt ignored, but we felt your indifferent attitude and we just step back. You are always welcome in MACEDONIA. Best regards.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The chillout area

Disliked: There was this guy who was apparently working there but he was asking us to chill out with him all the time. A very weird guy who was tailing us and trying to be nice but i think he had another motive.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
We are sorry for your wrong impressions, but for sure NO ONE EVER in this hostel had some hidden motives !!! Especially not with the guests ! If you check the other reviews you will see that the staff is mentioned as friendly and helpful.. But that`s okay, not everyone accept friendly people. Cheers!

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Quite helpful when I first arrived, very near the bus and train station.

Disliked: Difficult to find, staff seemed to be sleeping a lot of the time (especially the next morning when breakfast should have been ready). Not very clean with no real shower and instead of finding a relaxing roof top terrace I found two people 'relaxing' on the terrace.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very chilled, nice friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability