Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Rotorua Rotorua Hostel

1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua, New Zealand

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 93%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy
• To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction.
• For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund.
• For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night.
• Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights.
• If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rotorua?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 93%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: i like this the best because the kitchen almost has everything we need for preparing meals. They are clean and are usable. Perfect!

Disliked: I can't think any of what i dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Very clean, very friendly staff, free wifi (but only available at the kitchen & lounge)

Disliked: No shelves in the room, very noisy bed (very loud if someone moves)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: One of the cleanest and best organised hostels if I've ever stayed at.

Disliked: Showers get cold pretty quickly. That would be the only remark.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: It's location

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean and modern

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Pavel, thank you for you positive comments. Enjoy your travels in NZ.
Kind regards
Haylee Bloor

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: It's clean and well maintained. bed is comfortable. The dorm room I stayed in had enough space for the number of people staying in it. There are enough sinks toilets and bathrooms that there is no waiting required whenever I needed to use it which is great! Kitchen was well stocked with appliances knives pans pots mugs etc and user friendly.

Disliked: Distance is a little far to walk to the supermarket but apart from that, it is great and value for money.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Hazel, thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found it clean, comfortable and well equipped! The closest supermarket is located 5 blocks from us, a 10 minute maximum walk. It's worth downloading the free YHA Travel App which lists all nearest supermarkets to all our YHA's plus lots of other useful information. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.
Kind regards
Haylee Bloor

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staff and location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: very clean and new, good beds

Disliked: nothing, great place

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location, clean rooms and a spacious common area. You also get free unlimited wifi

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good clean facilities

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability