Website feedback

Reviews of Haka Lodge Queenstown Queenstown Hostel

6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

**The minimum age of guests is 18 years old**

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Safe facility, not near the party/loud areas, cool people check-in here

Disliked: Commons area closes at 10, not much amenities, kitchen closes early.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Andy, thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We understand your frustration about our communal areas closing at 10.30. We do so in order to prevent excessive noise during the night and to make sure our guests get a good night sleep. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us despite this inconvenience.
Kind regards

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staff were helpful, rooms were warm/had good radiators, private rooms had TVs which was nice.

Disliked: The wifi, it was fast most of the time but it kept signing you out every 30mins and making you log back in again. Apart from that everything was great

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Adam, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Sorry you had some issues with the wifi. Have you asked help to our front desk staff? We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us despite this and hopefully we'll get to see you again. Kind regards, the Haka Lodge team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Nice little freebies like soup once a week. Fun services like clothes swapping etc. two nice kitchens, well-equipped. Clean room, quiet, very secure.

Disliked: Said there would be free parking but theres only 4 spots and never available because Queenstown has a HUGE parking problem. Had to pay for parking because all free spots, even on the roads, were all taken.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us & liked all the facilities & free stuff! We love to add extra value & make a home from home for our guests. Parking is definitely an issue in Queenstown - we actually have 6 spots right outside available on a first come, first served basis & are more than happy to help you find a space when you arrive. Happy travels & thanks for your great feedback :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: George is an absolute gem and so so helpful! The atmosphere is also super wonderful with all of the folks coming in to adventure in Queenstown! Everyone is super excited and super nice! I also loved that there were plugs next to each bed and a little curtain to close off the rest of the room. Very nice touch.

Disliked: Nothing really. I wish I had more time there! Perhaps communal milk for tea?

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Everything a good hostel should be. Particularly impressed with the facilities at each bed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


20 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Everything was set up perfectly for a great stay.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


14 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving us a review :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The environment is dynamic and really clean!

Disliked: The only difficult is the space is kind of small in bunk bed room, but if you will stay in private room all would be perfect.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments, sounds like you enjoyed your time here! Space is limited in some of the dorm rooms but hopefully everybody made use of the large storage drawers under the bunks, & we hope you liked the privacy curtains & personal lights & sockets etc :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: high speed WIFI, tidy bathroom, helpful staffs

Disliked: you should walk though the reception to go to the toilet and bathroom…

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for reviewing us. Unfortuantely we cannot help the layout of the building, it is a bit strange in places but all the same I'm glad you found it to be clean, with friendly staff & good WiFi!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a super cute hostel. Great location and also the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us & that you found us to be a welcoming team!

Check Availability