Website feedback

Reviews of Fat Cod Backpackers Picton Hostel

9 Auckland Street, Picton, New Zealand

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 90%

Safety 79%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Picton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 90%

Safety 79%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

Showing 11-20 of 25 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: outdated decor

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: close to ferry terminal

Disliked: 8 minute timed hot showers. in the 8 bed female dorm only one plug, why there needs to be more

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location for ferry and bus! Helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Free soup and freshly baked bread. The comfy sofas. Forget the bad reviews as there are new owners and it is an excellent base to stay in Picton. You can walk to the ferry terminal, bus stop, train station. I would definitely return.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location for me was good because I was catching a bus to Nelson.

Disliked: Over crowding in dorms, no breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, Thanks for the review. We do provide rolled oats to make your own porridge in the mornings and when the office opens at 8.30am we provide home made bread also, I'm sorry you missed out on this, or though I'm not sure why you would have. The dorm you were in is a 10 bed mixed dorm and it does clearly state this on the booking, we have not had anyone complain of over crowding and there always seems to be enough room for everyone. Happy travels!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was a nice little place to stay; there was a good atmosphere and we felt very comfortable. The location was good (although Picton is very small anyway) and the staff seemed very friendly. You also get an hour of free wifi to use which is more than you et in most other hostels. We'd definitely recommend staying here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking time to write a review, unfortunately hostelbookers would not take of the last owners reviews so it has been hard to start getting our own ones. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel has basic kitchen and tv facilities, ok location but town is so small that any hostel is a good location, walking distance of ferry port.

Disliked: unisex toilets and showers in same area as washing machine. No space or privacy in this area. I was given no keys of any sort and all doors into the building and rooms left open so anyone could walk in and help themselves. I was there by alona and discovered I was the only person staying there. There was a man there working who checked me in and made very inappropriate comments and suggestions which made me feel very uncomftable, and when I realized I was the only person staying there, I did not feel safe. I packed up my stuff went across the road to atlantis where the people there agreed with me, and got me a bed straight away.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: By far the most cosy and home from home hostel we have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very cheap, nice, clean hostel. its right next to the station and very near ferry point. good kitchen and chill out area. nice, quiet atmosphere... great for chilling out for few days to get some enjoy back (dont expect brand new facilities or lots of young travelers tho)

Disliked: hostel doesn't feel like its been updated since the 70s. still clean, but feels a bit dated. great for a quiet stay tho. would still recommend if you don't mind old facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the ferry

Disliked: You had to use your own sleeping bag/bedsheets or pay to use theirs

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability