Website feedback

Reviews of Mountain Jade Backpackers Hokitika Hostel

41 Weld Street, Hokitika, New Zealand

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 96%

Staff 100%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Cots available
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hokitika?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 96%

Staff 100%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nice social area and new feeling small and homely

Disliked: Kitchen a little small

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Good location, nice atmosphere, helpful staff

Disliked: Bunks are a bit small....you cant sit up in the bottom bunk!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything is so good.

Disliked: None.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were SUPER friendly!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you had a good stay with us and hope that you have a great time in New Zealand.
Safe Travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything is good except the heater was not working during my stay during winter and it was soo cold it gave a bad experience during my stay there.

Disliked: the heater not working

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Thank you for your review.
I have checked the heater in the room you were in and it is working just fine and heating the room up.
We hope you have a great time in New Zealand.
Thanks
Mountain Jade Backpackers

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean and quiet.

Disliked: Bedding was too soft for my taste,

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: ..

Disliked: ..

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, set up

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great owner, relaxed atmosphere and a good price

Disliked: Cheap but not free wifi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Thank you for your review of us.
We are glad that you had a great stay with us here in Hokitika.
We do let every one know about the free wifi available at the Library which is just behind .
We hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is a great one.
Safe Travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

Check Availability