Website feedback

Reviews of Noah's Ark Backpackers Greymouth Hostel

16 Chapel Street, Greymouth, Greymouth, New Zealand

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 93%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Greymouth?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 96%

Safety 95%

Staff 93%

Value 93%

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: Great atmosphere and very friendly staff. Communal kitchen and other facilities were great to use.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I experienced a hostel of superior quality during my stay in Noah's Ark Backpackers.

Disliked: I have no complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The backpackers has a lot of character and has quite a unique theme.

Disliked: It was dirty. There were no sheets - on a duvet - that could be easily washed between stays, and so made me think that they were only washed once in a while. Bathroom was disgusting. Mud and grass everywhere - I thought this was because it was the end of the day, but it stayed that way for the 2 days we were there.


The property's response is

We are disappointed and mystified by this awful review. Firstly, we provide clean linen for EVERY guest - pillowcases and 2 clean sheets - no exception. If in the dorm rooms we are not sure which beds have been slept in, we change them all to make sure! Duvet covers are cleaned very regularly - following industry best practice. Bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly EVERY morning, checked by manager and checked again at night. These claims are inexplicable and I wonder about your motivation.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It has lots of character, staff are friendly and relaxed. You feel welcome to treat it as your own home. Rules are there but very unobtrusive. A great friendly atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The animal theme is cute and this is a great building with lots of character, and a fab wraparound balcony overlooking the town. Rooms and bathrooms were spotless, great well stocked kitchen and lovely dog to pat!

Disliked: The bunk bed in the cheetah room is the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on in over 10 years of backpacking. I should have put the mattress on the floor.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: the bright color of the hostel. the friendly golden retreaver that came to greet you, presenting his toy. a good kitchen. (again, pottery could have been a BIT better, but i've seen a lot worse in other hostels.)bed slept very good. room was nice of size. free wifi to a certain amount. dining on the veranda is possible (and nice)

Disliked: it has no own parking spot. just before the door there is a place where you can stand for a limited time. after that (the sign says) you will get a fine. but the owner said, that after 15.00 o.clock this was never checked, so you could leave the car there untill morning, about 8.00. and (was his comment) he was so certain of this, that he said, "if you DO get a fine, give it to ME. and i will pay it for you."(we did NOT get a fine, so he was right.)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: WiFi was expensive for only one hour.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and a fun environment.

Disliked: Shower had great water pressure but needs a better seal on the door so the water doesn't make a mess on the floor.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: it had character, a deck and good view, comfy beds

Disliked: stairs, small kitchen, no carpark

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesame building for backpacking travel!

Disliked: --

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability