Website feedback

Reviews of Fox Glacier Pod Hostel & Inn Fox Glacier Hostel

39 Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, New Zealand

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 68%

Location 96%

Safety 82%

Staff 80%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Cancellation/Refund Policy: Cancellations 48 hrs prior to 2pm on date of arrival incur no fee. Special conditions apply to Group quotations/reservations.

If you consider your arrival to be after 8pm on the day of your arrival, please make every effort to inform us about your late arrival. In case of no contact by client prior to 8pm, we will make your booking available to others after 8.30pm. When contacting us on your day of arrival, please take into consideration the lack of phone coverage along the Coast and through the Lewis, Arthur's and Haast Passes. Thank you.

Check-in/Check-out: Check-in is available from 2pm on the day of arrival. Check-out is 10am on the day of departure. If you require the use of any facilites e.g. kitchen, bathrooms/laundry, etc after 10am consent from Reception prior to 9.30am will be required. Early Check-in and/or late Check-out is by prior arrangement with Management only.

Changes In Reservation Term: Any change in reservation term will be treated as a new booking and additional charges may apply. Any extension to a booking is subject to availability of rooms. Earlier departure than the reserved date may not result in a refund unless the motel management approve and are able to relet the booked accommodation.

Credit Card Guarantees: Online reservations require authorisation of a credit card number. No charge will be made against the card details unless the client fails to arrive for the booked accommodation, or leaves charges on day of departure. Cancellations up to 48 hours before the booked date incur no fee. After this time a charge may be incurred.

Luggage Storage: We do not provide secure storage for your property. We do have an unsecure area where bags may be stored on day of departure.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 20:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fox Glacier?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 68%

Location 96%

Safety 82%

Staff 80%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The pod bunks were great with your own light, power socket and curtains.

Disliked: The wifi rarely worked for anyone, and showers were often cold

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The beds were nice and fancy looking

Disliked: The manager was rude!I booked for 4 beds but later on I asked the manger (Hitesh Talreja) to cancel two rooms and keep only two rooms and he confirmed that but at the time of heck in he said I haven't give him notification about cancelling two rooms and and also he was shoutig at me in front of other people. He actually charged me for 4 beds untill next day I found the email I sent to him (below) and then he reimbursed me:Hitesh To jacob_jonmo@yahoo.ca12/24/15 at 11:12 AMHi Jacob, Not a problem I have cancelled two rooms see you soon Please feel free to contact me for any further queries RegardsHitesh TalrejaManagerBeside the rude manager, other problem was the kitchen was small and usually dirty (no washing liquid or drying cloths, etc).

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The manager was very friendly. Quite a cheap hostel.

Disliked: The hostel feels very claustrophobic. Rooms are tiny and only have small windows. There is very little atmosphere at the hostel. It was very noisy at night especially with the bar downstairs.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: I don't intend to generalise .. One female reception staff was very rude and abrupt. The following day I was looked after by another staff member which was ok.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, room was very nice and clean.

Disliked: Mosqitoes

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location. Acommodation was not noisy.

Disliked: Kitchen was very small. Only 10 seats by table for fully booked hostel (maybe 50 customers). Not enough communal space.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, clean facilities and cool tv lounge with plenty of movie choice

Disliked: No lockers for valuables

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free 200mb wifi a day and dorm beds

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff. Great bar adjoining accommodation with excellent home cooked style food which was good value for money. Bed was comfy and felt very clean. Bathroom tiny.

Disliked: Tiny washbasin - that's my only negative

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability