Website feedback

Reviews of Ivory Towers Backpacker Lodge Fox Glacier Hostel

33 sullivans road Fox Glacier, Fox Glacier, New Zealand

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 81%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Sauna
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fox Glacier?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Friendly welcoming staff, good kitchen facilities and a great space to relax!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The room was comfortable, the bathrooms clean and the kitchen is well equipped.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a jacuzzi -- that was great.

Disliked: Wifi was limited -- not so great.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice layout. Cool wooden kitchen table.

Disliked: The toilet doors

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: We had a great stay at this hostel. There was a storm and we needed to push the reservation a night because we couldn't get over Haast Pass, which was no problem. The gentleman running the hostel was absolutely lovely, and made us feel right at home for our 6-night stay. The kitchen was well stocked and kept clean, with free spices to use which was a big plus. There's a sauna, spa, and movie room, as well as a lounge/game room with a great fire going. The rooms were your average hostel rooms, but altogether this place was great and I definitely recommend it to anyone needing a place in Fox - we will definitely stay here again!

Disliked: It was a little chilly in the hostel in the kitchen area, but otherwise fantastic.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: large common area and rooms

Disliked: looked like it hadn't been updated or taken care of in 30 years, shabby and dirty

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good equipped kitchen

Disliked: Small showers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We had a twin private room with shared bath, which turned out to have extremely comfortable beds and a little deck for dining. The facilities were great, good kitchen and lots of tables, spa, and very conveniently located. The bathroom was clean and just fine to share--never had to wait. Great wifi too. We loved this spot!

Disliked: Honestly can't think of anything.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, good kitchen

Disliked: Rooms were a bit noisy (especially the alarm going off in the middle of the night!) and would prefer a lock rather than a chain on bedroom door.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Gut war, dass die Unterkunft über einen Generator verfügt, der im Notfall Strom liefert, sodass wir trotz tagelangem Stromausfall in Fox wenigstens nicht im Dunkeln saßen. In der Nähe gehen zudem schöne Wanderwege los.

Disliked: Personal / Manager ist größtenteils mürrisch bis unfreundlich. Die Küche meist sehr verdreckt. Insgesamt kamen wir uns vor, als würde man uns wie kleine dumme Kinder behandeln und nicht wie Gäste, die viel Kohle lassen.

Check Availability