Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati Amsterdam Hostel

Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 48%

Facilities 46%

Location 70%

Safety 54%

Staff 66%

Value 62%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in, please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.

City tax 7% not included We have a 7 days cancellation policy for all bookings. No-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.

Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5%. We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge);
unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. For shared dorm we have an age restriction min 18 years and max 45 years, and we have a max. stay of 5 days.

IMPORTANT: For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 20-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged
the 100% of the total booking. Group booking must pay a deposit of 100 euro a room for, and one passport, this we be given back when the rooms is checked and is ok.
Any damage to the room by the guest must be paid to hostel, and the hostel hold the right to check the person out without any refund at any time.

Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (28th Dec to 2nd Jan ), Easter holidays, Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 17th September ) we have a 20-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 21 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows will be charged for 100% of their total booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 48%

Facilities 46%

Location 70%

Safety 54%

Staff 66%

Value 62%

Showing 41-50 of 142 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice people, always ready to help you. Good breakfast for the price. Nice location. Very good price.

Disliked: Bathrooms and community areas are too small. It is a safe hostel, but there are no safes. It is what you expect for the price. I totally recommend it if you don't want to spend too much money.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were great, the general atmosphere in the hostel was very relaxed. I was a bit worried before going there because of many rather negative reviews, but now I can say they don't do the hostel justice - it's an amazing place to stay, especially for such a low price.

Disliked: It might be a bit disorganised and crowded at times, but all in all I left with a very positive impression.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was really helpful. I lost my passport, and they helped with the process and the guy even offered to call his lawyer if anything went wrong.. I needed to print some documents and they let me use the computer of the reception to do it. Also, during the night they would ask people their room number, etc, to make sure they were really staying at the hostel. Everyday in the morning a guy would come to clean the bathroom, which was inside the room. The common area was pretty nice, met some nice people. Right in front there is a pretty beautiful park too.

Disliked: No stairs to climb to the top beds. No lockers in the room, and nowhere to leave your bags if you're staying in the top bed (had to leave it under the bed of a guy I didn't know). The location is not the best, a 25 min walk to the center.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great value, great location near de pijp, one of the staff members (a guy who works in the evening at around 9ish) is the most friendly.

Disliked: Breakfast was extremely basic, but that's fine for the price. Could have been a little cleaner but fine for a student on a budget (like me), also the other two staff members I encountered were quite unfriendly. A simple hello/smile would do wonders.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Breakfast included only means toast, coffee and tea. Also, the check out time is very early.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free breakfast. good atmosphere. good size hostel.

Disliked: quite far out of town. rooms a bit damp feeling. broken shower that didnt have a shower head...

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating


09 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice Common room. Easy to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing really except for the dangerous staircase ;)

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nothing really. It was hardly average.

Disliked: Most things.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small room.

Disliked: Some of the staff are not that friendly. You need to pay for the city map which the map when you can get it for free from other hostel.

Check Availability