Website feedback

Reviews of UB Guesthouse & Hostel Ulaanbaatar Hostel

Baga Toiruu street, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 79%

Location 99%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Children's Play Area"
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note that this property do not accept people with bicycles as they don't have space for it.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 07:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ulaanbaatar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 79%

Location 99%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: awesome guesthouse! location is a short train ride from the train station but it's located in a very nice/safe part of town,common room was very comfortable and a great place to talk about trips in Gobi and Terelj trip with some other travelers. I'd highly recommend staying here! I have nothing bad to say about this UB Guesthouse.

Disliked: nothig bad to say..I had good time.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was a great hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were comfortable and the bathroom and kitchen had good, clean working facilities. Plus there were loads of tours going on, I recommend this hostel, great place to stay. Shout out to Ganbaa for the amazing Gobi tour! . Good location too

Disliked: nothing else..Just I had great time.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I have pleasant experience in the guesthouse. I did not have any problem getting there. The young girl that was in the reception was very friendly ( I forgot her name but she is a student). The room and the bed were clean the same as the toilet. I did not have much time to walk around as I stayed in Mongolia for only 3 nights but I reckon everything was so good and clean. I slept in a room with 3 other guests. All of them were friendly and quiet/ respectful. I am very happy with my choice. also trip to the Terelj.

Disliked: only I have no time to go to Gobi dessert trip..other guests are always talking about this Gobi trip.but I did only Terelj one.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cosy, centrally located.

Disliked: They won't store luggage for you unless you're travelling on a tour they organised - even for a fee!Pretty annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had a really relaxed atmosphere and met lots of interesting people hanging out in the hostel. Bobby is great, very helpful with anything you need, tho[ugh sometimes a bit over worked and stressed so can come off a bit standoffish.I went on a one week Gobi tour organised by the hostel and it was one of the most amazing experiences ever. I highly reccommend it!

Disliked: The hostel has a strange Mongolian woman who seems to live in whatever dorm bed is available at the time. She's harmless, but crazy, and loves to talk even if you don't eant to, and half the time you don't know what she says. Most travellers spend half their time in the hostel trying to avoid her. Not a reason not to go though, just annoying at times.TheGobi tour was great on the most part, but the guide brought his girlfriend along even though there was no room in the car. This meant for a week, driving about 7 hours a day, we had to squash 4 people into the 3 person back seat. Nobody was very impressed. It also meant the guide was distracted by her and spent more time with her than providing us with any information. I think without her, the guide would have been awesome.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I really felt at home there and actually we extend our stay in UB guesthouse. It's very well located near the city center and near the main avenue where we can catch buses to everywhere. The staff is always ready to help and always cleaning everything so the guesthouse could be very clean. The kitchen is small but you also have a nice sofa on the main room where you can meet and talk with new people. They organize nice tours around Mongolia but if you prefer to travel by yourself they will gladly help you as well. It says that there are a lot of rules for the kitchen hours, internet hours and everything but I never felt that as an inconvenient thing. Actually, only kitchen closes between a couple of hours for staff but if you really need to go there, it's ok for them. So if I return to Mongolia, I will definetely stay at UB guesthouse again!

Disliked: The staff is always ready to help but sometimes they don't speak english and we had to wait for someone who does.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was good, the manager lady was nice enough until we queried our room!

Disliked: We paid for a double room. We were given a twin room, and charged for a double. Upon querying this we were told a twin actually contains a bunk bed, and that we should have just pushed the beds together... It was a twin and you couldn't swing a cat in there. As for the tours, they are cheap but you get what you pay for. Luckily we were with a great group of people. You get dropped off at your yurt which appears to be in the middle of a 'tourist camp' and then are just sort of left there. There is no information about the park, the way of life, the people etc.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free train pick up even at 6am! good free breakie to get you going. bobbi is really helpful in organising an overnight trip to a ger camp. we were wondering why the ger trip is so much cheaper here and nearly didnt book it because we thought a different one might be better but we're so glad we booked through bobbi because it was just as good as any other trip- in fact we were staying even closer to the action than lots of others.

Disliked: really annoying that the wifi is turned off right when everyone wants to use it. also annoying that the kitchen cant be used when you need it.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Couple who owns/operates the property is wonderful. Both extremely helpful and kind. Very clean hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great value! Free internet- wifi and one computer to sue. Very cheap laundry service available. Close to everything touristy in UB. Definitely get the airport pickup- you will have a very hard time finding it otherwise.

Disliked: Very cheap to stay, but there are extra charges for EVERYTHING, so just prepare yourself. Still a good value, though.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability