Website feedback

Reviews of Golden Gobi Ulaanbaatar Hostel

Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 88%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ulaanbaatar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 88%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Central location. Lots of guests from various countries. Free breakfast. Tours. Helpful staff. Low price.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location you can't beat and also the main staff are super helpful and can help you with anything. Breakfast is enough to fill you up and the beds are comfy!

Disliked: Something small really, but there is a young guy working there that is pretty blunt and no help at all the travellers. Can be pretty rude and did see a few people leave because of it. i stayed at the GG on three different occasions when i was in UB and it is the only dislike about the place, even though it is a very small dislike!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast included, friendly staff, easy to book their tours spontanious

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaner

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location - just 3 min walk from the State Department Store.Extremely helpful stuff - ready to give recommendations and directions, Ogie and team also took initiative to adjust our itinerary so that we can busk in the festivities at an on-going Nadaam. (it came with a USD10 fuel charge per person, but that was no big deal)Hospitable - me and my mate were clearly tired after an overnight train right from Zamyn-Uud. Upon arrival, we were offered breakfast - bread, spread, muesli, and HOT COFFEE. All these, before we even officially check-in and go through the paperwork.Good arrangement - we really enjoyed the 1-night homestay with a local nomad family. There isn't much to do after dinner, so we had a round of card games with the kids. The forfeit involved song and dance, some very minor physical punishment and getting our faces smudged with soot from the cooking pot.

Disliked: Warm - We stayed in Rm 2, a mixed dorm. The ventilation is rather poor, and it gets rather warm at night. Our room-mates were clearly irritated. I also had to resort to sleeping topless.Ok, this isn't really a complaint, but the guide assigned too was a bit inexperienced. She couldn't really explain the Mongolian history and culture in-depth, but more or less made up for it with her helpfulness and flexibility with requests. Overall we did enjoy her company, as well as the very nice and friendly driver.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: No keys for doors

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place to find people for a triphot spot

Disliked: It's a really proffessional hostel an tour operater, for my taste a bit too much

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Had the private double room with private bath - felt spacious and for the 3 nights I was there, temperature inside was excellent - never too hot or cold. Really enjoyed feeling relaxed in my own space at the end of my touring. Relatively clean. King size bed was one of the more comfortable beds during my stay at various accommodations throughout Mongolia. Location was great for walking to shopping and sightseeing around Sukhbaatar Square. Appreciated the free guest computers with Internet provided. Would definitely book this room again if same quality maintained.Atmosphere was very lively with constant flow of travellers from all over the world.

Disliked: Room did not filter out any of the many loud noises throughout the day. Staff did not outline any of the amenities available, what breakfast hours were, etc - ie, no introduction/info provided upon arrival or at any time during the stay.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: Family run- warm people- clean- cozy-nice continental breakfast- great restaurant near by called los banditos!! Yum!! Indian/Mexican!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staying there is very cheap, but you can stay only if you book their tours, otherwise the problems will begin...

Disliked: The way of handling problems with clients: Screaming and not trying to find a good solution ! We finally did a tour with another agency/hostel, same itinerary, same comfort (or even better) and it was a lot cheaper than the offer of Golden Gobi ...

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything!! Great atmosphere very friendly, perfect central location and great value for money! Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability