Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal El Nagual San Cristobal de las Casas Hostel

Calle Francisco Leon, No.35, Santa Lucia, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 73%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Cristobal de las Casas?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 73%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff ist very friendly and helpful. They also helped me, when I was sick, thanks to Fernando.

Disliked: Not very comfortable chairs, they are so hard. But this wouldn´t be a reason to stay away.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly owners, helpful advice

Disliked: No sleeping in the dorm before 2 AM. The party starts in the kitchen at 10 PM (and this was a Monday night) and everyone stays up drinking and talking just outside the dorm. It's really impossible to sleep even with ear plugs. Noise and lack of quiet hours made for a miserable night.. Sorry guys I like you but you have seen the last of me. I recommend you find a different place if rest is on your mind.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice place to meet different people. Quite helpful staff. Location is also nice.

Disliked: No hot water. Wifi connection is not very perfect. Beds are too cramped. No lockers

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely hostel very closed to the town center and the bus station. It is very clean, the staff doesn't stop cleaning. The dorms are comfortable. The breakfast is nice (toast, fresh fruits, fresh orange juice and mexican coffee) . the kitchen is very well equipped.

Disliked: we had to pay for leaving our luggages. The hostel didn't receive our booking and couldn't work out the exact amoung due.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This time, I wanted try a hostel which is more budget than a hostel. I was expecting some facilities may be missing but in contrary everything was just fine. Even the hot water problem other members mentioned did not happen to me. Actually sometimes it was too hot, I don't know why. Communal kitchen is the meeting point of hostel. I cooked my own food while sharing it with others. I met a lot of interesting people. Martin who is one of the staffs of hostel is the coolest man. Rooms are pretty comfortable. Although I stayed in a four room dormitory, I get actually one room mate since there is a wall in between beds. Enough space for me. Staff, especially Pancho, are very helpful. Stay there you will like it.

Disliked: The only thing bad about my stay is the wooden beds which are screaming when you turn in bed and can wake up your mate. But no big deal. Mattress was comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The helpful staff and comfort of the area, and a kitchen!

Disliked: Hot water isn't always hot.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The dorm was great. Lots of space and no bunk beds which makes a nice change. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel is within easy walking distance of lots of great cafes and shops, and they will give you a map and explain how to get everywhere. The hostel is very spacious, with a communal kitchen (with free drinking water), TV room (with a limited range of DVDs) and outside areas.

Disliked: The hot water doesn't last long in the shower. The staff aren't always around which wasn't a huge problem but on the nights I was there unfortunately some of the other guests were quite loud, so maybe if there were staff around they could have enforced some quiet! But overall it's a nice hostel in a nice city and I would recommend it.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Helpful owner

Disliked: Cold room, cold shower, no atmosphere

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: The friendly manager and warm blankets. Good for a few days whilst exploring Chiapas.

Disliked: Noise and lack of cleaning up in the kitchen from other guests. Lack of private bathroom facilities. Waiting for hot water for a shower. Lack of anyone to help on reception. My booking not registered on arrival.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are sorry to hear that you were so unhappy during your stay with us. We always like people to leave the house feeling like it is their home too As we communicated at the time we were sorry for the mix up with your reservation and we hoped that you would have been pleased with the discount that we arranged for your third night with us. We do have a room with private bathroom available if this was your prefrence. But thank you, we are always happy to learn how we can improve our services.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A beautiful hostel and one of my favourites. Love the atmosphere, people, its in a quiet location a short walk away from the restaurant/cafe strip. Good value for money, good internet, kitchen. Would highly recommend it!

Disliked: It was perfect for us but if you were expecting luxuries you might not love it as much

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review! We hope you come back to San Cristobal soon.

Check Availability