Website feedback

Reviews of Posada del Abuelito San Cristobal de las Casas Hostel

Calle Tapachula #18, Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 94%

Location 91%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

We are open from 8AM to 10PM.
For every arrival between 6-8am and 10pm-midnight, and in case of delay, PLEASE join us by phone : 00449671202397, or by email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Cristobal de las Casas?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 94%

Location 91%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 21-30 of 30 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice and friendly place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice staff, small but nice!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: todo

Disliked: nada

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Four months in Mexico and this was probably our favorite hostel. Not too big, great vibe, decent breakfast and all centered around a lovely little courtyard. Staff were also great, with big shout out to Juliette! As early 30s travelers, we loved it just the same as our 60 year old mother, who also loved it.

Disliked: Nothing, was great!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I love the style of this hostel, really beautiful and well facilitated. San Cristobal de Las Casas is quite cold during the night so the hot water is essencial and Abuelito offered us a extremely awesome shower.The staff is nice too. We arrived after 10pm and the hostel was closed. That was our bad cuz we didnt inform them before which we should have. The confirmation mentioned so but we didnt read well. Anyway, the staff showed up and helped us settle down.

Disliked: The breakfast was ok, just too simple.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: It's a really great place to go! the staff is nice and they propose a lot of tours.

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, I love tiled old colonial buildings. I liked having internet access with a public good pc. There were videos to watch and books also (I read one, I laid one also). I loved having many blankets for the cold nights. I loved the tour suggestions. I loved so many flowers in bathrooms, kitchen, common areas.

Disliked: the street is dark at night, that's a question of the city, not of the property, anyway I felt safe (but I don't go out after 10 pm, I don't know later how it feels). I missed a microwave but there was an electric oven.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is really good value for a lovely room with a separate bathroom. There were plenty of showers and toilets which were very clean. The owners are friendly and the place is really relaxing. Perfect for couples or people who want to chill out. They have a computer and a simple but decent breakfast. The coffee is amazing!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The warm welcome at this cute posada made me feel comfortable and "like at home" from the first minute. They provide lots of information on what you can do around San Cristobal and they are helping with/organizing tours. They even thought about providing extra blankets for the cold nights you can have at San Cristobal - these details make the difference and give the posada its charming character!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely place with a great manager. Clean, friendly and beautiful. Ebnded up staying here 5 nights!!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability