Website feedback

Reviews of YWCA Centro Historico Mexico City Hostel

Humboldt 62 Col., Mexico City, Mexico

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 66%

Location 91%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 66%

Location 91%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: location, value, other guests, people to talk to.The showers are hot very good.

Disliked: There are mesquitos in the rooms very annoying . The hotel should address this problem.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Helpfulness

Disliked: Cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to transport options and quite easy to get to some of the attractions in the city from there.

Disliked: The hostel itself is completely run down, it looks like the place is held together by spit and hope. The room wasn't clean, in fact there was blood on the sheets when I got there. Nice. The lift didn't work which would have been fine is the lights in the stairway worked, but about half of them didn't - so it was a matter of skulking around the dilapidated building feeling as though you were probably going to get murdered. Outside of the hostel, there are about 50 homeless rough sleepers, I'd heard from a friend in Mexico City that they wouldn't be a problem but that street is known for motorcyclists mugging people. I didn't personally witness anything, but I certainly didn't feel safe when I was left outside for 15 minutes about 1am because they padlock the entrance and the night worker was probably taking a nap. The guy then got angry because I hac held down the buzzer - I explained the hostel SAID it was 24 hour, so I shouldn't have been left outside for that long in the middle of the night on a road that isn't the safest, but he was having none of it and slammed the door behind me, probably to go back to bed. There's no where to socialise or meet other guests, so it doesn't have the hostel vibe - more of a place to stay when you're down on your luck. The place is really cheap, but you probably don't even get what you pay for and I wish I had stayed elsewhere.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Value for money is excelent! SIngle room is nice, showers new reconstructed.

Disliked: Some of the employees doesnt speak english, but all of them are quite helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Its cheap option and located within walking distance from the city center and metro station. Place was clean and pretty secure although lockers were in the hallway. Staff tried their best to help and understand but lack of English made it challenging. Roomes were cleaned daily and toilets and showers (with hot water) were very neat.

Disliked: Kitchen didn't have necessary equipment for cooking or eating; stove didn't work, forks and knives were not there etc. This was a very negative surprise. For WIFI connection you always had to walk down to base floor and in today's world that isn't very modern. YWCA had lots of rules to follow which can be good or bad. Staff spoke just a little English and communication was difficult. Its a bit "hospital like" place but a good option for budget travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the price of a single room is amazingly cheap. everything is very clean. and the location is excellent.

Disliked: nobody speaks english.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: quiet, close to the downtown, close to the center

Disliked: the pressure of the water in the shower is too low sometimes, moderate clean, no kitchen or place with cuttleries to eat properly

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and very quiet at night.

Disliked: I wish there was wifi in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap choice close to everything

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The YWCA is in a great location downtown. Walk everyehere and countless cheap street food minutes away. The building is very safe and secure, although the homeless alcoholics and addicts beside the Y might scare some away just walk past them or take a different street, no big deal and they are pretty much harmless. The inside of the Y, although feels institutional, is the cleanest "hostel" I have ever stayed at and although not really a hostel it has the best price in DF for private rooms. The place is a great inexpensive, safe and clean deal. Did I mention a comfy bed, great pillow and clean crisp sheets like in a decent hotel? None of those worn out, shitty old hostel sheets with a thread count of about 4 left!

Disliked: Not dislikes really but more of a heads up and suggestions. 1. As stated above, there is homelessness and extream poverty right outside the door. If this bothers you then you might want to stay away or walk the other way. I have chatted with many of them, they are just like anyone else that happens to be really down and out.2. Not a hostel like you may be thinking. It does feel institutional but oh soo clean.3. Bare bone rooms. No tv, don't count on wifi in the room (but, I am on the 3rd floor and get wifi about 90% of the time) no private in-room washrooms but the cleanest communal washrooms I have seen in a long time.4. No use of the on site facilities for guests (pool and gym)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability