Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping Holbox Island Hostel

Calle Plutarco Elias Calles s/n, Entre Robalo y Chacchi, Holbox Island, Mexico

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 84%

Location 86%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Important Information

Special Conditions apply for the following dates:
Xmas: 15/12 – 15/01
Carnival: 26/02 – 05/03
Easter: 11/04 – 20/04
Summer: 01/07 – 15/08

50% deposit has to be paid maximum 48 hours after booking.

Please note:

50% of the total amount of the reservation will be charged by the hostel at the time of booking in order to confirm the reservation. In case the booking is cancelled up to 7 days before the arrival date, this amount will be refunded. After this, the amount will be non-refundable.
If the booking is for one night only, in case of late cancellation or no-show, the property will charge the balance for the first night.

Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard this hostel requires the 3 digit security from the back of your credit card.
You will need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in you losing your reservation.

Cancellation policy 7 days

Reception times are 09.00 - 13.00 and from 15.00 to 19.00. Reception closes at 7pm and we do not accept check in after this time.

Taxes are not included in the final amount (24%).

Breakfast is not included from 20/09 till 20/11.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Holbox Island?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 84%

Location 86%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: If you want to be absolutely surrounded by other travelers and think mosquitos are cute, this is a good place for you.

Disliked: HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. We had built our entire trip around this booking for a "House Boat". There was no indication on the photos of the property what was considered a "House Boat" and it was not mentioned that the House Boat is a mattress cut to fit inside a rowboat inside a structure ON LAND. It is not private, it does not have a fan, and the whole property resides on a mosquito-infested lagoon. The manager was extremely unkind and unfriendly, refusing to refund the money we paid him 10 min before

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: I love the atmosphere! The many options on both accomodation (from hammocs to cabbins) and food, makes this place a fit for a broad range of people. The breakfast was great and tye service good.

Disliked: They were lacking some lockers for the people living in hammocs and tents. We had our stuff in a luggage room, that was just available in the openinghours of the reception (8am-8pm), which forced us to plan our days a little better than what we preffered.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating


22 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: If you look for a Nice spot to pitch your tent like me , this is your place! If you look for a rempoté and tranquillo lugar like me this your place!

Disliked: The breakfast need inproovement, If you want 2 or 3 drop of Milk in your coffee you have to had 5 pesos ... The price of my réservation change for 30 pesos more wend i arrive , not a big deal but ...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: I loved the cabanas we stayed in and laid back and friendly atmosphere of the whole hostel

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The hostel has a rustic charm

Disliked: It was very hot and the power went out on the whole island so was very hard to sleep

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It has a very nice relaxed atmosphere with al the little cabañas.

Disliked: Plastic matresses!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway

Liked: Our stay here was absolutely brilliant! My boyfriend and I stayed in a double cabana with private bathroom - the hostel's site is beautiful with the wooden cabanas dotted around the communal area, with tropical trees overlooking them. Our cabana was very clean inside, comfy bed with mosquito net, bathroom and room cleaned everyday...I can't explain enough how lovely the place is - by far the best looking place to stay that we saw on Holbox (which is itself a perfect little island to visit). There is a locked box in the room for valuables, but I never felt like anyone would be breaking into the rooms! The atmosphere at this hostel and on the island is so peaceful. The hostel staff were super friendly and they have dinner available to guests (reasonable price) each night cooked by a really good Italian chef.The staff will arrange kayaking/ boat trips to nearby islands etc and also for the taxi golf carts to take you to the harbour when leaving.Lots of different types of people staying here - some backpackers/couples and also young families which gave it a really good vibe - all are welcome.I loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone - we want to go back at some point!

Disliked: Nothing bad about it!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Our Cabana was beautiful! clean and simple and the little area by the kitchen with hammocks was the perfect place to meet fellow travellers. David was wonderful and we would have loved to stay for much longer!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: The owners, David and Sasha, clearly care a lot about this place they are offering. They were very helpful and flexible. They helped us find cheap food, book a boat tour for 16 people, order things for our party and more. We met an amazing group of international travelers. It wasn't too rowdy and there was plenty of space for everyone to do what they wanted (eg. read a book, drink tequila, work, nap, etc). The cabanas and bungalows were great. When it is hot, the open air style bungalow is nice and the shared bathroom is beautiful and clean. It's just a short walk to the beach and everything else. After you book with hostelbooker and pay the 10% deposit, you get an email from the owners for more deposit. No big deal, no complications. It was great!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a great place with a really good location close to the beach and with walking distance to the centre. The cabanas and bungalows are really nice, the food is good, there's a good kitchen available, and the people are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There's a lot of mosquito there, but there is a lot of mosquito in general on the island, so it's nothing against the hostel. Just wear a lot of mosquito repellent and you're good to go.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability