Website feedback

Reviews of Granny's Inn Hostel Sliema Hostel

53, Blanche Huber Str, Sliema, Sliema, Malta

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 89%

Value 94%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Important Information

Cancellation days : 2

Check in: Guests must advise us with Flight arrival time and flight number at all times in order for us to be here on arrival.

Reception is open for check-in only until 14:30. For guests arriving later than this, the check-in instructions will be sent by email beforehand.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sliema?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 89%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location is perfect. Sliema is the best area with walking distance to Paceville if you want to go. Hostel is located on a quiet street away from the noise. Bathrooms were clean and rooms were spacious.

Disliked: The only thing that could be a negative is that there is no reception. We arrived in the evening and got e-mailed instructions on how to get our keys and to our room which was fine. But then I forgot my key in my other bag one day so we were locked out but with our luck the owner of the hostel swung by to check up and he let us in. We must have been waiting 5 minutes. Lucky

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location, only 5 persons in room, access to the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful and it was very clean.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything about this place was outstanding the cleanliness and general condition was next to none there were mixed dorms and just female dorms I would quite happily bring my family here to stay as I was so impressed with it

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much stuart. We are very happy you were satisfied with your stay with us and would be glad to accommodate you & your family in the future :)

paulette

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly stuff

Disliked: its quite difficult to get grom the bus stop but it is not too hard

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Apart form the unbearable arrogance of the staff, and the location in Sliema, which I do not like, it is a nice place with a nice roof terrace

Disliked: Granny's hostel in Sliema, Malta, is a nice place (in spite of the flees in the sofa, which were only a temporary problem) that I would recommend, if the management were not so arrogant.The reception is open only in the morning, which is fully understandable if they want to maintain their prices low. If you arrive in the afternoon, they will send you a code so that you can enter the building. They do not tell you that in the directions they send you right after booking, but only in a later message, which you might not receive in time. So I could not enter the building when I arrived and there was no phone number on the door. I can have understanding for this organisational failure, but not for the arrogance of those people who told me everything was my fault and I should have informed them that I would arrive after 2PM (yes PM, not AM!).After my departure, they complained about my not warning them there was a possibility of my waking up earlier then planned on the last day. So I did not know what to do with the keys and I put them in the place that seemed most reasonable to me. For some reason they were lost, which would probably not have happened if they provided a appropriate box. They told me there was a box, but it is clearly not appropriate, since you cannot see it unless they explain you were it is.Instead of learning from their mistakes, Granny's just charged me for the keys without even warning me beforehand, which is an absolute shame.


The property's response is

Anyone who has stayed with us can prove that all this person is saying is not true ... I dont understand why some people are just after trying to harm other people's hard work instead of appreciating accommodation which is clean and in a great location for such low prices!! ANYWAY...ALL OUR OTHER REVIEWS SPEAK FOR THEMSELVES!!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it's in a quiet street but still quite central, and they have female dorms.

Disliked: there's no staff after 2pm, if you arrive later you have to sms-call them on mobile to meet. it was hot like a sauna, they keep every door closed, no air circulation in the bathrooms. they don't sell drinks and water from the tap is not good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

There is no staff after 2pm (that is why prices are so low - however place is kept spotless which is the most important in our opinion).
If you do not want the heat, do not go to hot places...i cannot regulate the weather - bathrooms all have windows and extractors!! And bedrooms all have 2 fans!!
We DO sell drinks during reception hours!! And there are grocers just round the corner for the rest of the day!
Water from the tap is not good to drink in ALL MALTA not only at Granny's inn!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a very good place to stay at- located in Sliema in a tranquil neighbourhood. Charming and helpful owners and good value for money. Would recommend it anytime.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Very nice space. Good places to relax and socialize. Really great to have mini-fridge in each room

Disliked: Not a problem for my group but staff only available before 2:30pm.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability