Website feedback

Reviews of Baba Guest House (By The Sea) Penang Hostel

52 Batu Ferringhi, 11100, Penang, Malaysia

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 75%

Location 91%

Safety 88%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 75%

Location 91%

Safety 88%

Staff 92%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are lovely and friendly. Location is fabulous right on the beach. Fairly close to food and night market though not close enough to be disturbed by the noise.

Disliked: Our bathroom was very tiny this stay. My knees almost touched the wall. No effect on our enjoyment - but made for a few giggles!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff at Baba Guesthouse are really nice. They greet you and offer you any extra services you might need, plus they make sure you have seen your room so you are happy with it. You should definitely pay the little bit extra to get an airconditioned room.

Disliked: No dislikes.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better right on the the beach and within easy walking distance to many restaurants and best of all the cheap and fantastic I Love You and Long Beach cafes.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is located right on the beach front. There is also a nice area to chill out in when it rains

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Near the beach and shops. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The best beds we have slept on in any hostel .

Disliked: A bit plain no real common area.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the beach, and the dirty smelly ocean

Disliked: Old, dingy, and the wife was always in a mood

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The atmosphere is really nice, it feels like being home with a family.

Disliked: The walls are very thin, others may not be concerned by being quiet and you can hear the muslim prayer broadcasted from the mosquee which is very near.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway

Liked: This property is extremely clean. The owners/workers clean it very thoroughly every day! The premises are very simple, but because they are kept so clean, it's a great environment for travellers.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike; as others have stated, there is a mosque nearby and the call to prayer may disturb light sleepers, but it wasn't an issue for me or my partner. The walls are thin so you can't have a party in your room. The wifi connection is a little spotty at times, and we weren't sure how to get the hot water to work. This was mainly our fault, since we should have just asked for help, but didn't. All in all, we really loved this place and will come back if we pass through this way again.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Baba guesthouse is located feet away from the beach which is perfect. The owners are absolutely wonderful. I booked a room together with my friend but I was the first to arrive and the owner very kindly told me that I could pay after she arrives which I thought was very thoughtful of him. Baba Guesthouse is kept very clean at all times and the WIFI internet is very fast.

Disliked: Unfortunately Baba guesthouse is located very close to a mosque and even though we both have the utmost respect for the Muslim religion, the loud islamic chanting during the night very much bothered both me and my friend. If we knew beforehand we may have brought earplugs with us as we were both unable to sleep. When it eventually stopped in the morning and we tried to get back to sleep we couldnt because of the bright light entering the room. The curtains are paper thin. Having said this, our overall experience was still positive and I would still recommend this property.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: close to the beach

Disliked: needs fans out on balcony so better use can be made of in hot weather

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability