Website feedback

Baan Talay Homestay by the Beach Guesthouse

No.4, Lorong Abbas 2, Tanjung Bungah, Penang, Malaysia

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 95%

Safety 98%

Staff 93%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Parking
  • Towels Included

Important Information

1. Check in from 2pm and check out until 12 noon.
2. Cash only upon arrival.
3. Cancellation policy: A 3-day advance notice is required for cancellation free of charge.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 95%

Safety 98%

Staff 93%

Value 90%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Ray, the owner is very helpful, friendly and welcoming. The hostel is clean, modern and cosy. There is a kitchen with a fridge. Laundry is included. Our room was big enough, had a window and aircon. Tesco is just a 15 min walk away. 1 min walk to the beach. Close to batu ferringhi with a bigger beach and more.

Disliked: Long transfer to city (45mins) or airport (1.5h) with the bus.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Brilliant!! Stayed here with a friend for only one night, but we loved it! A quiet and cozy hotel, very helpful staff, good service! I truly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet, relaxing and peaceful vacation.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Really good social area for guests

Disliked: No internet in the room, and this wasnt a temporary issue. Premises water pressure low so shower is very poor once washing machines are on or other guests showering. Upstairs rooms during our stay had no water for any bathroom functions. Property offers self catering facities but it doesnt have a microwave or a hob with a gas bottle. All gas bottles had been allowed to become empty. Offers DIY laundry but guests cannot access washing machines until the hostel laundry was washed which was after 1500 hours.Poor cleanliness in rooms, hairs in plugholes and bathroom draincovers. We washed the bedroom shelves before we placed our clothes on them because of the dirt. We stayed 3 days and the room bin was not empied once. We asked the hostel for help to arrange an early morning pickup -hostel doesnt have a relationship with local taxi firm, arranged for a non metered taxi that wanted to charge 30% more than the non metered taxi we finally arranged ourselves. This could be a great property but is in freefall at the moment due to what seems to be poor management.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Comfortable, nice staff and great location. Process and checking in and out was really easy and fast. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

Disliked: No soap was provided

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway

Liked: The place is nice, less than 30 seconds walk to the beach, there's a tv in the communal area with free tea, coffee and water which is great.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here. It's in a great location with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean with everything we needed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved it! After traveling for 6 weeks and staying in few different places, baan talay ranked at the top. The room was very accommodating and clean. The beach was so close to the homestay. The service from the staff was outstanding. Definitely worth especially with such a low price.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was just perfect. The brand new luxury bungalow house with beautiful decoration especially the lounge area with the fish pond and garden. The people was very helpful, attentive, and wanted to please and make your stay as comfortable as possible. It was only less than 30 seconds walking distance to the beatiful beach. We just loved it so much and would love to go back one day.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability