Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Melaka, Malaysia

Old Town Guesthouse 95%

1. Old Town Guesthouse

Guesthouse
119-1, Jalan Temenggong

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 95%

Location 88%

Safety 99%

Staff 97%

Value 97%

21 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Old Town Guesthouse

01 Jun 2018 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

Lovely staff and a good location to walk to most of the sights if you are reasonably fit.

would recommend this property

14 Feb 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break

Chua, the manager, was incredibly kind and went out of his way to be helpful to me. The guesthouse is very clean (one of the cleanest I have ever stayed out) and even though it's on a busy road, is very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the water pressure was outstanding. It's in Little India and about a 5 minute walk from the Old Town, which I liked because it let me see the real Melaka. There are some great restaurants nearby. I would enthusiastically recommend this place!

would recommend this property

Read all Old Town Guesthouse reviews
Apa Kaba Home&Stay 92%

2. Apa Kaba Home&Stay

Guesthouse
28, Kampung Banda Kaba

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

125 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Apa Kaba Home&Stay

15 Feb 2017 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

Location, place, people and price.

would recommend this property

07 Jun 2016 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Everything. Especially the breakfast!

would recommend this property

Read all Apa Kaba Home&Stay reviews
Tonys Guesthouse 90%

3. Tonys Guesthouse

Guesthouse
24, Lorong Banda kaba, off Loring Bukit cina

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 87%

Safety 91%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

49 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tonys Guesthouse

29 Jan 2017 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

friendly owner, broad variety of breakfast, colourfull decoration

would recommend this property

21 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers

Everything was awesome! The host and hostesses are wonderful human beings. They are very helpful. A big plus is the cycles available for hire! Highly recommended to all!

would recommend this property

Read all Tonys Guesthouse reviews
Bala's Place 89%

4. Bala's Place

Hostel
77 Jalan Hang Kasturi

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 76%

Location 100%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bala's Place

31 May 2015 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

I liked the very relaxed and authentic atmosphere and the place's quietness. Very basic, but really clean.

would recommend this property

07 Mar 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

- location: at the heart of Chinatown and at 2min from Yonker Street- Bala - the owner - was really friendly and helpful! His staff as well, which contributed to make the place very convivialI really enjoyed my stay there and can only but recommend it!

would recommend this property

Read all Bala's Place reviews
Jalan-Jalan Emas 86%

5. Jalan-Jalan Emas

Hostel
8, Jalan Tukang Emas

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

92 out of 98 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jalan-Jalan Emas

08 Sep 2017 43%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

Location

25 Jun 2017 77%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Nice staff great location nice rooms

would recommend this property

Read all Jalan-Jalan Emas reviews
Discovery Cafe & Guest House 80%

6. Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Hostel
No. 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Malacca

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 95%

Safety 68%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

10 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Discovery Cafe & Guest House

12 Dec 2016 66%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

A

would recommend this property

29 Feb 2016 83%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Met John at check in, who is easily the nicest person in all of Malaysia. Very friendly, helpful at check in, carried my luggage and gave me good tips on the area and what to do.

would recommend this property

Read all Discovery Cafe & Guest House reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melaka?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Melaka hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Melaka. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Melaka

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Melaka. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!