Website feedback

Apa Kaba Home&Stay Guesthouse

28, Kampung Banda Kaba, Melaka, Malaysia

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cots available
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melaka?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 87%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 31-40 of 99 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Looking for a nice, clean quiet place to relax and found it! The owners are really nice and helpful. Its a real short walk to the markets and Jonker area.

Disliked: Nothing really, wasn't too pleased with the cockerel outside the widow at sunrise! But I guess it adds character to the place!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Aba Kaba Homestay is a delightful little oasis tucked away from the 'madding crowd'. As a home it has been in the same family for generations and the family did all they could to make our stay a good one.For the first time on our trip I found that I could really relax at Aba Kaba it really is peaceful . The breakfast was special - much more than the usual bread and jam. We enjoyed sitting in the garden both for breakfast and during the evening. A gem of a find which I would love to visit again someday.

Disliked: Nothing once we had worked out the best way to get there!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Having read a lot of reviews before booking, we were not disappointed with any aspect of the stay at Apa Kaba. The breakfast was basic but good and more than adequate. The atmosphere is very relaxed. The laundry services was very good.The gardens were really nice.There are a couple of malls in the area and the food courts are very reasonable for food.

Disliked: The location of the property is in a neighborhood area and walking around the area after dark was a bit daunting as the street lighting and pavements are at times poor. Also you need to be aware of the traffic as you often have to walk on the road.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: location atmospheremeeting other travellers and their families

Disliked: Almost impossible to find - ended up having to book and follow a taxi!Could do with a good spring clean!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A truly homestay feeling. Staff are helpful and talkative. The breakfast are very localized and delicious. In overall, a pleasant stay.

Disliked: it is kinda 'hidden' in the city, the road that leads to it is narrow and bumpy.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Bon accueil, petit-déjeuner varié, couchage très correct, très propre.

Disliked: Les cloisons des chambres ne sont faites que de quelques planches: aucune insonorisation, surtout que notre chambre donnait sur le hall central, aménagé pour discuter! Quartier un peu éloigné du centre et très populaire.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cozy atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Outside deck, tables and chairs on lawn, so very comforable for sitting outside particularly at night when seeking the evening cool.Staff had positive attitude.Some of the expensive rooms looked very attractive.Honour system used for items consumed from fridge. Apa Kaba supplies beer at a reasonable price.Reasonably close to attractions in the old town.

Disliked: I stayed in the budget private twin room. This had a fan and an exhaust fan, but no flywire on windows, so windows were not opened at night to keep out mosquitos. Room had a general feeling of shabbiness, sloping floor, ceiling needed painting, wooden walls allowed little flecks of sunlight through the flaking plaster between the boards, shabby desk, thin towel. Two shared bathrooms, one with hot water the other only with cold. Both had shower sharing close quarters with western style toilet - impossible to shower without geting toilet wet - OK once you get used to it. Breakfast OK, but unclear as to when actually available. Tea and coffee only supplied free for breakfast. Had to wash up own dishes and only cold water available for washing up oily items.While my stay was OK, not sure if I would go back to this venue again.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Heather,

Prices at RM 43/night for Private Room with windows + breakfast is one of the best bargain Melaka. If you can have some other accomodation in Melaka match us, we will give you free 3 nights stay for the same room (* or you can present it to a couple who will be travelling in Melaka, we will honour our promise, valid till the end of 2012) As for mosquitoes, it's a tropical climate and we ensure to minimize in all aspects by putting mosquitoes coils and repellants. Thanks again.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: lovely staff, excellent laundry service, good breakfast = excellent value for money! A great experience to stay here

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the relaxed atmosphere and friendly owner. The Guest house was also a nice old heritage building.

Disliked: It's potentially a little difficult to find, but our taxi driver knew the hostel so it wasn't a problem. Also, it's Ramadan at the moment so the breakfast was less than normal but no big deal really. The place it great for the price.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability