Website feedback

Reviews of PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe Kuala Lumpur Hostel

G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Our hostel deals with cash or credit cards and we charge a security deposit of RM20 (cash only) per person upon check in, which will be refunded when you check out. There's tourism tax of RM10/room/night imposed by Malaysia's government to foreigners. This is NOT applicable for dormitories.
--------------------------------------
Property premises not suitable for children below 13. Our reception and common area are 24 hours and we do accept late night/early morning check-ins.
--------------------------------------
Group Booking:
PODs cannot guarantee that groups will be put in the same dorms due to uncontrollable circumstances but we will try our best to do so.
--------------------------------------
Our check-in time is at 2pm and check-out is at 12 pm. Late check-out will result your security deposit to be forfeited. Early check-in is subject to bed availability.

If we deem the guests unsuitable, we reserve the right to turn them away.

* Promotions running for Walk In's and direct reservations are not valid for online bookings
** 6% Sales Services Tax (SST) is not included in online rates.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Showing 41-50 of 145 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: close to airport train departure

Disliked: room design and noiselocation to visit KL, quite terrible to walk around

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: one of the cosiest hostels in kl. place is very welcoming. two thumbs up to PETER, the danish gentleman who attended to me when i was checking in. super friendly chap!

Disliked: nothing much

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Okay, let me give a full rundown of information about this hostel in what is a fair review:What I liked:- Hostel is really close to the KL Sentral station, as a transiting backpacker this is VERY useful.- The staff, very friendly, all round good people.- The price was very competitive, even for KL prices.

Disliked: What I disliked:- Location is good BUT the street surrounding this place appears to be a red light district. I will point out here that at no point did I feel in harms way but there are some odd people walking around once the sun goes down.- The rooms have no ceilings.... no im serious, if you buy a bed (or a pod) you get four walls like a cubicle within a whole floor. You essentially share the same lights and air con and sounds with everyone else on the floor.- Showers are a bit weak.- You have to take your shoes off to go to your room (saves on the cleaning bill I guess).Overall - If I was intending to get an early morning train or flight to the LCCT @ KL Airport I WOULD stay here again.If however I wanted to stay for a few days and sight see in KL I would not.That simple IMHO but each to their own.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staffs are kind and helpfull. They accept to check-in even I arrive at late night.

Disliked: The air con only works at 6pm-7am, and it is only one in the entrance.switch of the funs and lights are on the entrance, so somebody might turn it without your mind.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: rooms were not cramped like at other hostelsclean

Disliked: directions could have made it easier to find

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, environmental friendly place. I love the bunker beds.

Disliked: The cold cement floor, the fact that they build the rooms from the usual partition walls you see in offices (a bit higher though), noise is inevitable and that the reception is only open from 7am-12pm

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very spacious private room and common room.

Disliked: The room is not really private, because there is no wall up on the roof and you can hear what's going on the next room. And the wifi is kinda slow or bad reception when in room. At common room the wifi is very good.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very basic but comfortable for what I wanted: an overnight stopover in KL, budget accomodation, conveniently placed to get the Airport shuttle bus.Was happy to see the commonroom being used (in the morning) for a gathering of young Malaysian women, guests at the Hostel, for a forum on women's rights & self advancement, said good things about the attitude of management to be hosting the event.

Disliked: some people may not like the way the walls are only high partitions that don't go all the way up to the ceiling (Though I can see why they have done this for ventilation...).I didn't find it a problem, with a single room & quiet fellow guests in the other rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap. Good location close to station. Wifi. Clean. Comfortable bed .

Disliked: Very noisy at night one night. Door slamming and voices carry. Air conditioning not great at night.Bring ear plugs

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Private Pods are great set up.

Disliked: Location is abit dodgy but hostel is a safe environment. Defective squaky ceiling fan kept us up all night.

Check Availability