Website feedback

Reviews of PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe Kuala Lumpur Hostel

G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Our hostel deals with cash or credit cards and we charge a security deposit of RM20 (cash only) per person upon check in, which will be refunded when you check out. There's tourism tax of RM10/room/night imposed by Malaysia's government to foreigners. This is NOT applicable for dormitories.
--------------------------------------
Property premises not suitable for children below 13. Our reception and common area are 24 hours and we do accept late night/early morning check-ins.
--------------------------------------
Group Booking:
PODs cannot guarantee that groups will be put in the same dorms due to uncontrollable circumstances but we will try our best to do so.
--------------------------------------
Our check-in time is at 2pm and check-out is at 12 pm. Late check-out will result your security deposit to be forfeited. Early check-in is subject to bed availability.

If we deem the guests unsuitable, we reserve the right to turn them away.

* Promotions running for Walk In's and direct reservations are not valid for online bookings
** 6% Sales Services Tax (SST) is not included in online rates.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Showing 31-40 of 145 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location and great value.

Disliked: Air condition is not cool enough.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, functional but calm creative environment which facilitates for both private or group time.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: Staff is friendly n kindly.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Staff were great, it is very close to monorail, trains,

Disliked: rooms a bit small, but value for the price

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The proximity to KL Sentral

Disliked: Not having 24hrs check out

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere of the hostel! The private room is small but it has a nice view, the showers are big and have enough pressure :D The whole place is very secure and the lobby is really amazing (good PCs, good WIFI, WIFI also two floors above very good,TV, travelers library, sitting area, guitar...) and very friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We only booked one night here as we the location looked a bit out of the way. In hindsight it is near to a metro station and some good places to eat so we would have been happy to stay longer. The staff member we met, at 11pm, was really friendly and helpful. The pods were comfortable and the shower area is clean. If you are on a budget and do not mind using the metro (it is very cheap and efficient) I think this place is perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great location, good breakfast, always cheap ;)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful friendly staff. Location and ease of access excellent. Really friendly, quiet and clean.Would reccommend to anyone after quiet, hassle free place to stay. Walk from airport bus, in Brickfields, India town !! Backpackers in the name is a moisn8mer !! This place is not a party place, but you are in the midst of life, not Chinatown !!

Disliked: Nothing at all !!

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The design is quite funky, location is close to sentral which is good if you have an early bus to the lcct or klia

Disliked: We booked a private room but I do not consider these rooms as private. It's a large dorm room where they have put 7 foot partitions up around each bed. So yes you have walls around your bed but you are essentially all in one big room. You can hear everyone else talking and moving around and they can hear you, not my definition of private. They turn all the lights out at 10pm and there's nothing you can do about this, the fan controls are in the hallway not in your room, and the noise of your fan will disturb others so you're encouraged to leave it off. This is all fine if you don't mind sleeping in a dorm. But I booked a private room and that is what I expected.

Check Availability