Website feedback

Reviews of PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe Kuala Lumpur Hostel

G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Our hostel deals with cash or credit cards and we charge a security deposit of RM20 (cash only) per person upon check in, which will be refunded when you check out. There's tourism tax of RM10/room/night imposed by Malaysia's government to foreigners. This is NOT applicable for dormitories.
--------------------------------------
Property premises not suitable for children below 13. Our reception and common area are 24 hours and we do accept late night/early morning check-ins.
--------------------------------------
Group Booking:
PODs cannot guarantee that groups will be put in the same dorms due to uncontrollable circumstances but we will try our best to do so.
--------------------------------------
Our check-in time is at 2pm and check-out is at 12 pm. Late check-out will result your security deposit to be forfeited. Early check-in is subject to bed availability.

If we deem the guests unsuitable, we reserve the right to turn them away.

* Promotions running for Walk In's and direct reservations are not valid for online bookings
** 6% Sales Services Tax (SST) is not included in online rates.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Showing 11-20 of 145 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: good standard i always come back to, PODs never dissapoint me.They have free lockers for each bed now!BOOK X CHANGE - I love it

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was a really clean and good place to stay. Beds are good. Right now one off the staff is playing guitar and Im eating brakie :)

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say in this place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The price, security, design and in house spirit

Disliked: All good

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Location is amazing for passing through the city, you can literally walk from KL Sentral. The dorm is lovely and cold at night (great aircon). Also the food at their restaurant downstairs is actually really good and you should totally eat there, malay and western cuisine alike!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: best location - walking distance from KL sentral, like the concept of showers - they look like in the village ;)basic breakfast is OK - enough to start your day with sth in your tummy ;)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked the people working there. Very friendly and interesting.

Disliked: No complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it's location, value for money, love it's atmosphere too, it's a transit stay for me to catch my flight early in their morning, that's why I choose this location close to kl sentral.

Disliked: kl sentral has no attraction, just shopping centre. I literally laze myself in the hostel the whole day, like it

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good staff, good hot shower, clean, big lockers, good location

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: very chill vibe, friendly staff, it's a place to hang out not just to crash

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the peacefulness of this hostel. Of course the location was a big plus. Being a stone's throw from KL Sentral made it so convenient to reach, as well as a start point to visit other locations. Brickfields, where it's located, also made it very easy for travellers to find good affordable food without venturing too far from the hostel. The pods (rooms) were simple but spacious enough. And I really appreciated the wall USB ports to charge my devices.

Disliked: When I first saw the pods, I immediately felt a little pity for my neighbours, simply because the walls did not go all the way up, and because I am a terrible snorer. This design is very practical for a centralised ventilation and air con system, but I forsee people would dislike this centralised lighting systems (lights out at 11.30pm the night I was there), and that sounds from other pods could travel over the partitions. Each pod also comes with a window of frosted glass, which is nicely hand painted with whimsical designs. However, being in the pod nearest to the main door, and with a lack of curtains, meant the bright light from the stairwell would shine directly into my pod every time anyone entered or exited my level.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability