Website feedback

Reviews of Riga Hostel Riga Hostel

Merkela 1, 4th floor, Riga, Latvia

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 84%

Location 92%

Safety 91%

Staff 89%

Value 94%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wake-up calls
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Riga?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 84%

Location 92%

Safety 91%

Staff 89%

Value 94%

Showing 21-30 of 66 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Unlike most hostels, Riga hostel offers a towel on arrival with your bed sheets on the bed. The staff are incredibly smiley, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They will happily chat with you if you want to make a new friend, too. By the end of the stay I felt as if I was one of the family and was so sad to leave. There is a lift to the hostel on the 4th floor of the building for the lazy, those who find it hard to walk and those carrying heavy suitcases. Unfortunately, this does stop running at 12am and the stairs are the only option after that.The hostel gives you keys to get in and out of the building at any hour, unlike some of the other hostels in the building which don't always provide stair keys. (The stairs are often locked on second floor at night when the lift stops for security). The other visitors of the hostel were also for the most part lovely. There was a range of nationalities from Japanese to Portuguese, Turkish and even native Latvians, using the hostel during the week to work in Riga before they go back home to the country and their families for the weekend.I loved the atmosphere of the hostel, how clean it was and how friendly everyone was, at any time of day or night. I also loved that it is not really a hostel for the party all nighters. Late night screams and drunken warbles are not my thing. Having said that, the set up allows any drinkers to come and go easily enough but please don't disturb the rest of us - thanks!The breakfast from 8-11 is also more than adequate for the price. You get three different types of bread, often some type of ham sausage, sometimes cheese too, cucumber, tomato, cornflakes, milk, juice, jams and, some days, fruit. There is a 24/7 Rimi right across the road, the McDonalds on the bottom floor doesn't close until 1/2am and there is a very nice Lido restaurant (look it up if you haven't heard about it - only £5 for a three course meal if you buy certain things. My average meal was maybe 7 euros) only three blocks over and one up (instructions at reception :D). The train station is also right across the road, you are a short 10-15 minute walk from Stockman, the market and the old town. Maybe slightly longer with traffic lights or slow walkers.

Disliked: The only suggestions I would make for the staff is to perhaps invest in some aircon for the very humid weather as it is sometimes difficult to sleep. I would also suggest a few hangers in the toilets for bags and coats. There are plenty in the showers but one or two of the toilets could do with a tiny one on the back of the door.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent location, good breakfast, friendly staff. They let me take shower after check-out and finishing Riga Marathon.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The best location in Riga, just on the border between the Old town the Central Train Station, and the City. Very clean, and secure, kitchen with all you need to cook, friendly staff, comfortable beds.Perfect for me. I was sorry that had just a night in Riga between two flights with overnight stop. I would come back for longer some day, and will stay again in Riga Hostel for sure.I would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very cheap! The best hostel in our trip. Had a great breakfast at Easter day, they made the breakfast earlier because we had to go early. Highly recommended!!

Disliked: none.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: I liked the location and especially the price for such a good service and nicely decorated rooms.

Disliked: Location is good, but it's 4th floor so it takes some time to get up there.Also the kitchen is very small.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: breakfast, rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Helpful and polite staff. Quiet place. Good breakfast with a choice of jams, spread cheeses, sausage plus cucumber and tomato. Owner an d staff realy care!

Disliked: No water in the private rooms. Enough showers, but only a few washbasins.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really enjoyed breakfast. The location is close to the bus station. It was one of the cheaper options. The staff was nice. It was clean.

Disliked: Not much the hostel can do to change what I didn't like about the place. The common areas/kitchen are small and uncomfortable. The stove is just a double hot plate. This isn't really a backpacker's hostel, but more of a place for old men and women to stay who are about one bad break away from living on the streets. The other people staying here are depressing and sad, and they all have staring problems. I couldn't make a single move without at least 3 sets of eyes watching everything I did. It was really uncomfortable. Traveler's tip: If you want to blend in with the locals, be sure to not bathe for a few weeks before visiting because many people in Riga wreak of BO.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very good locationsingle room is small but well decoratedstaff is very helpful and kindvery cheap

Disliked: a bit noisy of the first single room due to the thin wall, but still ok if you don't sleep early

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability