Website feedback

Salman Zwaidh Camp Campsite

Wadi Rum, Wadi Rum, Jordan

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 93%

Location 97%

Safety 97%

Staff 100%

Value 96%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 14:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wadi Rum?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 93%

Location 97%

Safety 97%

Staff 100%

Value 96%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hospitality, very beutiful location even not central located in wadi rum and very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is amazing, tucked away from other camps, spectacular view. There were no other guests when I got there so Salman took me around with him to visit his friends, smoke shisha, drink lots of milk tea and then see the sunset. I felt a little uncomfortable being a woman on my own but I suppose that's normal. They're lovely guys, you can trust them. At night there were some other guests, we all had dinner together and chatted around the fire, wonderful. I recommend it.

Disliked: The day I left there was no public transport to Aqaba apparently so they drove me and another 2 guys there which was handy but I think 30JD for the ride is quite a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The camp, is all about the people. So friendly and helpful. A really nice camp, located in the desert. You feel secluded, and within no other camps in sight it really does offer the perfect getaway. You get what you pay for, good value camp. Very simple. Campfire and lovely dinner every evening. Good tours on offer which are a must to explore the area as its must too vast...would happily go again. Many people decide to sleep outside under the stars...a great option

Disliked: Nada.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We were picked up from the checkpoint and greeted by Salman and his friend. They were so kind and friendly from the moment we met them. They showed us the camp and allowed us to enjoy the atmosphere, their tea, their food and their conversation. We were never pestered about doing a tour, nor did we ever feel unsafe. In fact we ended up sleeping beneath the stars rather than in the tent. In the morning they dropped us all the way to the israel border. we had an amazing experience and would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing. It's amazing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent location with open sky for star gazing, but also tucked by a mountain wall where the lounge area is always shaded from the sun, thus there's always a cool refreshing spot to rest even in the height of the afternoon heat.Smaller camp with great personable friendly owner Salman and assistance Zaid who will do anything for you happily. This is a lower-key basic camp with a real sense of Bedouin camp style- not the bigger touristy camps which might be more polished but lack in genuineness. Here you are welcome to sleep out under the stars on a mattress or the lounge area by the fire, or in your goat hair lined tent. We learned to love the fabulous typical Bedouin dish of mansaf (rice, lamb, yogurt sauce eaten with the fingers with bread Bedouin); and asked Salman if he would teach us how to make it. We shopped in the little village for ingredients and spent an afternoon in cooking lessons with him as friends, not tourists.Salman offers all the Wadi Rum activities- jeep trips, hiking, sunset watch, campfire sheesha and bbq. So enjoyable to hang by the fire after sunset, take in the beautiful desert quiet, and breathe the fresh air with some one whose life is one with the desert.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Salman was a great host for us! I didn't feel like a customer, I felt like a guest at his home. He was so kind and always asking if we were fine and if everything was fine. I could only stay one night because of my time constraint but I wish I could have stayed more, maybe one week! Wadi Rum is such a great spot to escape the noise of the city and to be in peaceful with yourself and with the beautiful nature around you... The dinner was so delicious and he organized a nice trip around Wadi Rum for a very reasonable price. I would recommend this camp to everyone for sure!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I only stayed at this camp for one night but I wish I could have stayed for longer. Salman was an absolutely fantastic host and went above and beyond to make sure that I was happy and comfortable; nothing was too much trouble. He organised a very reasonably-priced jeep tour of the desert which included all of the main sites in Wadi Rum, as well as several rest stops to relax and drink tea with the locals. He even let me drive the car all the way back to the camp afterwards. The camp itself is situated in a beautiful area and has a communal tent as well as a shower block with flushing toilets. The dinner was delicious and it was also possible to sleep outside under the stars if you wanted. As a female travelling solo I was slightly apprehensive about spending the night in the middle of the desert with strangers however I couldn't have felt safer during my stay, despite being the only guest in the camp that night. I had a fantastic time here and would highly recommend this camp if you're looking for a more authentic Bedouin experience in Wadi Rum.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Basic but authentic bedouin camp in Wadi Rum. Nice spot out in the desert.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities are very basic but too be expected if you're in the middle of the desert.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner, Salman, and his brother Khaled, were very kind and helpful, as well as the whole staff. I felt very welcome there and I was treated very nicely. I appreciated that they never tried to charge me extra for anything and accommodated me whenever I needed something. Also, take the jeep tour and camel rides they offer! I loved them. :)

Disliked: Nothing honestly. I had a great experience.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Suleiman was a friendly and generous host. He went out of his way to ensure that we had a great experience. The scenery around the camp was beautiful. Our evening meal was a Bedouin barbecue and it was one of the best meals we had in Jordan.

Disliked: It's not a dislike but just to be aware that you are in a camp in the middle of a desert which is run by two men (who were very kind and friendly) however it may be uncomfortable if you were a single female traveller travelling alone. Take your own sheets/sleeping bag liner if possible.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability