Website feedback

Reviews of Nikko Park Lodge Nikko Hostel

2828-5 Tokorono, Nikko, Japan

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 82%

Location 78%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 89%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nikko?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 82%

Location 78%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: -Beds are really comfortable. And heated - a treat to sleep on after a long day of sight-seeing -Really cozy place with large sofas, wood stove, and a shower-room over-looking a garden.

Disliked: -a bit remote if you plan to walk everywhere

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good food !

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: If you like the idea of a cozy wooden lodge, this is the place for you. The owner is very friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: The bathrooms, corridors and rooms could all get very cold. The dining room has a wood-burning stove that gives the hostel a slightly smokey smell. No washing machines. Bit of a trek to get to. No lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I've travelled all over Japan, but Nikko Park Lodge was one of the best places I've stayed while I've been here! Ken (the manager) had perfect English, was very helpful with sightseeing advice (make sure you ask him about places to go!!) and his food was delicious. We really loved his generosity and kindness to us!! He even gave us a complementary cake to my dad for his birthday! The wifi didn't work in our rooms (only because they were the furthest from the lobby and our phones are a bit old), but it was really lovely and comfortable to sit in the lounge and dinning area where the wifi was strong. It felt just like home. I can't recommend it enough. Thankyou Ken! - From the Aussies!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I reserved a twin room at one property but upon arrival at Nikko found that the property I did not reserve was right across from the train station so I took a chance in asking if my reservation could be transferred. Fortunately there was availability and I received a twin room that was a small apartment complete with TV, refrigerator, microwave, nice bath towels and bathing supplies.The location is perfect!

Disliked: Street noise can be heard but the city quiets down early enough.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Staff are great, the location is wonderful and the hostel is amazing.I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Nikko...make sure you book and stay there too.

Disliked: I disliked nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Located outside of town so if you don't like the 20min walk book elsewhere. Once you are there it feels very homely and I was made to feel very at home by Ken. The dorm was fine although and I had to myself. The lounge-bar area is very sociable if there are people around. Good breakfast.

Disliked: I would have to be picky.The bathroom facilities were beginning to show their age but it is not a new building.I paid ¥300 to transfer my luggage to town so I could head straight to the shrines. You then pick up from their other hotel by the station with combination lock. They forgot to take my back in time so I missed my train but no big thing as I just went for some lunch but I'm pretty chilled :)

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The athmosfear was realy pleasant in thé lounge and thé Room Wel decorated

Disliked: We made à reservation for thé dinner but de didn't récidived what we asked for

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I think that eventhough is not the cheapest hostel we stayed at, it was the most complete of them all for sure, so it has a really good value for money relation. I recomend it and would stay there again if I got the chance to go back to Nikko!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly owner. All the staff were great and really helpful, I thoroughly recommend this hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing, it was a really wonderful place with an onsen nearby and very friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability