Website feedback

Reviews of Matsumoto Backpackers Matsumoto Hostel

Shiraita 1-1-6, Matsumoto, Japan

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 88%

Location 95%

Safety 88%

Staff 100%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Matsumoto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 88%

Location 95%

Safety 88%

Staff 100%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: I had a really great one night stay at this hostel. Owners were very accomodating and helpful. In particular they provided advice about the local area. It was nice to be able to experience traditional style accomodation on a budget. Room and bathrooms were very clean. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing could not fault this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Help and advice from staff is excellent. They keep it small to improve relations between staff, guests and all travelers. Good facilities and a great location - close to the city center but not too close. Easy walking distance to anywhere in Matsumoto. Reception is very good. Kitchen is nice.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Really nice friendly staff nice relaxing atmosphere

Disliked: Trains passing close to hostel were a bit noisy Only one small locker in room for 3 people Facilities small, No garden or tv room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: MBP is such a great place to be. Brian is very welcoming and really good at making you feel comfortable. Common room is very friendly and inviting with a kotatsu. Showers and facilities are clean, room are comfortable with classic tatami and futon. They organize activities for the night. There is an onsen and kaitenzushi 10 minutes walk from the hostel. MBP is well located, near the train station and 20 minutes walk from the castle. It was such a good place that we stayed longer than planned.

Disliked: It's cold! But the warm water bottles for sleeping are amazing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


27 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The host was really helpful to find the interesting places. If you have time and you are interested in art go to the art museum.

Disliked: It was a little bit cold but that is to be expected with Japanese houses.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey!
Good to hear from you. Thank you for the kind words. We were glad to welcome you to Matsumoto city.
Spring has come here and already our garden is starting to sprout buds.
Safe travels,
MBP

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice japanese style rooms. They even made space and have been flexible enough to park my motorbike. Super friendly staff. definitely a perfect place to stay in matsumoto.

Disliked: Slow old public laptop

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Arigato for the kind words!
So happy to hear that you appreciated our friendly welcome. We were impressed with your big Japanese motorbike adventure.
Be safe,
MBP Team

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, who gave us excellent advice about hiking trips around the area. Very relaxed and easygoing atmosphere. The place is in a great location, with very easy access from the train station by foot.Very clean toilets and bathroom.

Disliked: No locks on the doors, although the place feels completely safe.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best part about this place were the owners - Brian and Shuko. They're very friendly, very helpful, and very knowledgeable about Matsumoto and the other areas around, as well as the rest of Japan. They've created a nice friendly atmosphere so that everyone gets along and gets to know each other in the common area. I really can't say anything bad about this place. If you're in Matsumoto, make sure and stop there.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the kind review.
There was a good mix of people here when you stayed with us and we are glad that you all got along so well.
Be well,
MBP

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms are beautiful, airy, quiet from street noise. The beds are incredibly comfy futons, really cosy. The whole place has a great atmosphere, very friendly, helpful and welcoming owners, a lovely shared space. Great location, looks over the small river, close enlightened to train station. We really loved out stay here!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

C san,

Thank you, thank you, thank you. We had a really great time with the three of you. So happy to hear that you had a good time at MBP. You sure were busy during your stay so we were glad that you could get a good rest after long days of sightseeing.

You must be back to school already. We have fond memories of you and your lovely family.
Best,
Brian & Shuko

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Beautiful room

Disliked: /

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability