Website feedback

The Place in Rome Guesthouse

via Macao 9, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 96%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Airport Transfers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini-bar
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

For Apartment Reservations, Breakfast is NOT included. Paid cleaning service by request only.

Please note:
Check-in starts at 1:00 p.m
Check-out is not later than 11:00a.m.

Cancellation policy: 2 days
If you cancel within 48 hours or if you don't show up we will charge your credit card the price of the first night.

Rome's city tax
Please be reminded that the Rome's city tax of €3.50 per person per night is NOT included in the price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 96%

Showing 81-90 of 90 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hotel is located close to the main bus/train station which makes it easier to get to from the airport and also easy to get to other parts of Rome. It is a bit far to walk anywhere from the hotel, but public transport in Rome is cheap.The owner is very helpful, but has an unusual sense of humour which may take some nationalities a while to get used to. He seems to be a typical Italian - fairly laid back and very talkative.

Disliked: There is no signage whatsoever for this hotel so it made it a bit confussing trying to find it. Make sure you take note of the street number and telephone number or you'll never find it.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: they are rare on towels

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, private. Owner was very helpful. Location's distance from metro stop was okay.

Disliked: It's in a side street that is hard to find. No elevator to carry lugguage up 2 flights of stairs. The bathroom had a funny smell.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner was very helpful and gave us all kind of useful information. He even told us about a Halloween party happening down the street that he was going to. We knew we would be checking in very late and sent him an email 2 days before. He was waiting for us when we arrived around 12 in the morning. You are a short walk from Termini station. At Termini, you can find all the public transportation you need and there are sightseeing buses from there as well. The room was excellent for European standards. It was very clean, comfortable bed, fridge, nice bathroom (although tiny), hot shower and free internet. Breakfast was a pastry/croissant and coffee at a little cafe a street over. We almost missed our flight in the morning and the owner made sure to wake us up so we didn't miss our flight! It cost us about 40 euros to get to the airport in a taxi from there as we left so early in the morning there were no buses/subways running. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Disliked: We had a hard time finding it at night as it was on a small side street and some streets had no signs. I would suggest (from Termini station) going down Volturno and then turning right on Montebello and from there you will see via de macao on the left (it's a very small street). Find house # 12 and ring the bell for #7.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The property itself was secure and in an easy to manage location.

Disliked: There is no signage to indicate the location of The Place. At the address the buzzer is number 7 however there is no sign to indicate this; we had to use hostelbookers comments to discover which buzzer to use. The 24/7 reception is a bit misleading; we arrived at 2pm but where unable to get assistance checking in till around 4 pm. There is 24/7 access once you have keys. James was extremely pleasant if a bit overwhelmingly so.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, basic but clean enough. Large room with space to move around. Good wifi internet connection. Key entry to the front of the building.

Disliked: The owner took about an hour to check me in, a real hassle after spending all day getting to Rome. The room wasn't ready yet when I arrived after 3 in the afternoon. Had to sit in a hallway and wait for the cleaners to make up the room.The shower was so small that you could hardly turn around and the shower head sprayed over the top of the shower into the toilet, rather than into the shower. The door of the room didn't lock from the inside, so it didn't feel all that safe at night. The breakfast provided is one cup of coffee and one croissant. I felt that for 85 euro a night, this was way over priced for the facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great friendly staff and good location.

Disliked: could be little bit cleaner

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa

Liked: James is a very nice host and was always helpful with hints and suggestions. He has a 24 hr. service!!! We only contacted him during "normal" service hours, though :-)The Place is situated in a quiet neighborhood with lots of little restaurants for evening fun and a market/bakery in the morning. I missed a table in the room, but other than this, it was perfect (even a small fridge in the room).

Disliked: When we first arrived there, we didn`t find it at Macao 12. Then the hotel in the neiborhood told us to ring Number 7 (without a name on it). If you do so, James will open :-)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For this price "The Place in Rome" is simply a luxury.Private bathroom, air conditioning, TV, internet, fridge and very nice manager.Close to train station "Termini" and a small fruit market every morning.There are several inexpensive cafes.These things make a pleasant return to the hotel.Breakfast is an Italian coffee and croissant in the near cafe-Just to know.The place is safe and arrive at night is not bad to have a phone number, you will be welcomed.

Disliked: No.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean place and very sociable front-desk. The position is great and the room was like on a hotel. We were really impressed about the cleanliness of the room and when we arrived they surprised us with a bottle of wine (because we stayed more than 3 days).

Disliked: "Dislike" has no place when describing our experience on "The place in Rome".

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability