Website feedback

Reviews of M&J Hostel Rome Hostel

Via Solferino 9, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 57%

Location 80%

Safety 58%

Staff 79%

Value 60%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Important Information

- Payment is cash upon arrival.
- Check-in: 3pm till late. Check-out: 10am - Luggage room available for free upon arrival and until 9pm on day of departure. A valid ID or a valid passport is required. The person who reserves must be registered as a guest.
- In all private and shared dorm rooms we charge €3.00 for linen. This charge is compulsory and guests are not allowed to bring their own bed linens or sleeping bags.
Room prices do not include the Rome City Tax (01/01/2011) which is €3,50 per person per night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 57%

Location 80%

Safety 58%

Staff 79%

Value 60%

Showing 1-10 of 289 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating


03 Sep 2018

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: This property has nothing likeable.

Disliked: Do not stay here, massively disappointed with the service Massive bed bug issues, I get this happens but the way the manager dealt with it was awful , Multiple people were complaining at the same point. Manager wouldn’t give a refund even though we didn’t spend one night there. Has not responded to any emails although I was told that’s how to claim refund as on that day we complained, he took all the money and wouldn’t sort any of the issues people had and wouldn’t come back to the hostel.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2017

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: That it was near Termini Station.

Disliked: The faciltiers were not there as promised. There was no fully equiped kitchen, so that we had do go out to eat. That was very expensive for my scouts The rooms were not clean and in a bad condition. The switch made electrical sounds. The computer in the room was out of order, The blankets were dirty,, damaged and stained. As we had asked for new ones, the new böankets were in a bad condition, too. The bathroom-facilitiers were not clean and in a bad condition. The safty boxes did´nt work and so on....

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating


18 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I enjoyed the proximity to Termini station and food store.

Disliked: Hostel bookers failed to update web listing about the kitchen access...absolutely no kitchen, refrigerator, sink, or even a kitchen-sized trash can in the common room where the kitchen should be. Cash ONLY. Not all bunks have ladders (only two in a 10 bunk dorm) Wifi does not work in rooms, only stair well, common and cafe, but wifi in free.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating


10 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location is not the best but is good.

Disliked: You disappoint yourself by just climbing the first steps. It is a very expensive price for a room of 8 people. They do not give you bill despite claiming city taxes. The facilities are run down and ugly. Wifi only works in reception not in rooms. For the same price you can pay for a better place like The Yellow. The person at reception asked me: Is there no work in your country? That was a derogatory comment for a tourist.

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The worst place that i never been, bad custumer service, bad wifi conection, so expensive. In Rome you can find better places for better price, and in the same location, and some of them give food and a very good service.

Disliked: No wifi room, dirty, no good electricity, expensive, bad custumer service

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Was really kind staff,good location

Disliked: I booked the room and paid,i sent email with some question and i didnt recive answer

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Not much. It wasnt close to the sights in town. The staff wasn't very helpful. The wifi didn't work. The room was kinda grimy. It was expensive for what they provided.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating


16 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Cheap and cheerful

Disliked: Only thing I would say was bad is that I had my phone stolen. Aware there is nothing the hotel staff could do however they were very friendly regardless. But very angry my phone was stolen from my room while I was in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good, easy to find location. Best shower I've had in weeks. Very fun atmosphere, plenty of good advice from the reception staff too. Also the discounted breakfast down stairs was great

Disliked: No wifi on the upper floors, quite hot in the lobby and rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability