Website feedback

Reviews of Lake Como Hostel La Primula Lake Como Hostel

Via IV Novembre 106, Menaggio, Lake Como, Italy

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 79%

Location 94%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

To stay at the Hostel you must be a member of Hostelling International (IYHF, formerly known as the International Youth Hostel Federation), non members can pay an extra of € 3/night. With 6 nights they will receive a memberhsip card).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 17:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lake Como?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 79%

Location 94%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

Showing 21-30 of 50 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was very good and beautiful.

Disliked: We supposed to be a 6-bed room, but they put us 8 bed room (but the roommates was normal). You can´t sleep at night, because people were making smoke in front of your windows and screaming. The hostel is closed at 2-5 alsou.The price at a bar was a little bit too expensive. It was´nt very clean.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I felt everyone tried hard to make every guest's stay a positive experience. It was a place with real soul. There was also great information on walks in the area. And, of course, there were the absolutely fabulous views of Lake Como from the bedrooms and common room.

Disliked: The facilities are very basic especially the showers and toilets. The food is pretty basic too but, then, the hostel is run on a shoe-string budget.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I had a great time at this hostel, the staff and owners went out of their way to help us and the food from the kitchen is amazing. Its really easy to make friends and the location is amazing! The rooms are nice and there is lots of space to chill out if you feel like, Love this place and I will definitely be going back one day!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's cheap and location is great

Disliked: Lots - no communal kitchen, when everything closes over lunch for siesta and you can't even cook your own food! They also close between 2 and 5pm so you can't even get food in the hostel! Staff weren't very helpful, there's just no atmosphere in the at all unfortunately. However, it was cheap and the location definitely worth it!

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere is really good. There are lots of backpackers. That makes it a really nice place. The location is good. The lake is stunning!!

Disliked: -No kitchen-No fridge-You can not check in before 5 pm (there's no staff between 2-5 pm)-You need to pay for the internet! (Go to the tourist information where using internet is for free)-While checking in I think the staff can provide some advices about must sees and nice things to do and good places to go in the area.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was in a good location for exploring Bellagio etc by ferry and close to many walks available from Menagio. The staff were wonderful and lovely and so helpful.Lockers are available but bring your own lock...The attached restaurant /bar was delicious and well priced and nice that they get everyone together eating at the same time (and you get a free wine if you pre-book your dinner)

Disliked: The check in process was a bit of a slow ordeal, and I also had to wait 3 hours which I wasn't aware of when booking since they shut from 2 - 5pm.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked the location, it had a great atmosphere and the option of eating at the restaurant was good and drinks were cheap.

Disliked: You were not permitted to self cater because they wanted you to buy food and drink in the restaurant, which is not ideal for a hostel stay. You had to pay for WiFi and although breakfast was included, this consisted of a piece of stale bread and a bit of jam. Cornflakes were available for an extra euro. It felt like you were being asked for extra money, for lots of basics.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location right next to Lake Como is great. It's the only budget accommodation in the area. They have a restaurant that serves good food for fairly cheap and they also have pack lunches available. (One pack lunch is big enough for two people.) Breakfast is included.

Disliked: The staff was rude to me via email, but they were nice enough in person. There is no self-catering kitchen available, so cooking your own meals isn't an option. The rooms were all very hot--a fan would have made it much more comfortable. I was in the 8 person dorm, but on my last two nights they rolled in an extra bed for a 9th person, making it pretty crowded. I also got stuck with roommates who woke everyone up at 5 in the morning, obviously that's not the hostel's fault, though.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Sociable and friendly, with really helpful staff and a private beach on the lakeshore 100m away.

Disliked: Nothing we disliked, but Its worth check the bus times from Como (& train times from Milan) in advance especially if you arrive on a Sunday

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing views of Lake Como and such great value for money. This place has definitely been the best hostel I have stayed at in Europe. The staff are really friendly and it is a fantastic place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: The showers are a bit small and the rooms need fans as it was SO hot at night the room was like a sauna. It would also be helpful if the hostel reception was open all day - it is closed between 2-5 which can make it difficult for people arriving in the afternoon.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability