HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Manena Hostel Genoa Hostel

Vico alla Chiesa della Maddalena 9/1, Genoa, Italy

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • PlayStation
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Our Timetables
Check in 09:00 am – 11:00 am and 13.30 pm – 11:00 pm
Check out 11:00 am
Breakfast 8:00 am – 10:00 am
Cleaning time (only common room available) 11:00 am to– 1:30 pm
No curfew

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy.
Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay.
Manena Hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize your card prior to arrival.

Breakfast not included
Credit Cards accepted
Taxes not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 23:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Genoa?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 70 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Very well located, good staff, and a great walking tour on offer

Disliked: The air con does not work as it makes noise and disturbs neighbours. Our dorm was very, very hot as it was august. Probably less of a problem for other months

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Very nice place with incredibly nice people working there. The staff was among the friendliest I have met at all the hostels I have been to. Really enjoyed their help and their recommendations. Accomodations were slightly above standard but as I said, the workers there were fantastic and I really appreciated their music tastes.

Disliked: Not much, minus the fact on this particular day I could not partake on the walking tour as the tour guide had to postpone to the afternoon when I left. Otherwise, it was great.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great central location, a very relaxed and chilled vibe. All rooms (bedroom, bathroom, common areas) were very clean and well looked after.

Disliked: A mirror in the dorms would be handy but that's a very small thing!! I was very impressed with everything :)

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Small and friendly

Disliked: The acess to the building is not so simple and must leaving rooms for cleaning

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi man,

The access to the building is just... ringing the bell, that's it! :)

BR
Giulio Talamanca
Manena Hostel Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very well managed, the owners are very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is excellent, the guests are cool. There is a great space to cook and socialize that is open all the time. The facilities are really clean and well taken care of. There are many bathrooms so there are never lines to take a shower. Overall, one of the best hostels I've ever visited.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot!!! :)

Since the first day we've been improving things but also our attitude so you can really feel like at a friend's home!

Hope to see you back in Genova soon!

Best regards,
Giulio Talamanca
Manena Hostel Manager

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Wifi in the room, air condition.

Disliked: Breakfast should be free of charge. Location is central, but in a very strange, even dangerous (in the night) place.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

I can't understand why you say this is a dangerous area. Did something bad happen to you? I don't think so. Most of our guests appreciate the absolutely authentic atmosphere of the city. Genova is no tourist trap!
It's always better to let people choose: 3€ for our breakfast or just enjoy the kitchen facilities. Here you'll find everything you need to cook (incl. free coffee, tea, oil, vinegar, sugar, salt, spices) and the nearest supermarket is just 5 min on foot.
Regards
GT

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked when I have reached the hostel how the staff is so friendly although, he's running the place a lone. He could manage to handle everyone with his full attention to all details and a lot of tips advice where to visit in Genove upon checking in to everyone.

Disliked: Hmmmm everything was really great! Maybe the wifi connection wasnt too fast sometimes. But that's due so many guests. Otherwise is good.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lots of space, staff very friendly, big lockers and big windows.

Disliked: Not a lot of atmosphère and exchange between résidents.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small and friendly hostel. The rooms are very spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. Also have deals on in the local restaurants for the guests.

Disliked: The rooms were very warm at night, nothing major, just a bit sticky.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel. Really easy to meet people as I was travelling alone. Nice common room, clean facilities and near the historic centre. Spiros was a great hostel and was really helpful. He took us around for a walking tour that almost became a drinking/food your of Genova. I didn't think much of the city at first but the locals passion and energy for the place made me fall in love with the city. Definitely recommend visiting Genova and man ena hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, guy. Your experience really represents the spirit and passion of our work!
Sooner or later we hope to have you here again!
Best wishes,
Giulio Talamanca
Manena Hostel Manager

Check Availability