Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Veronique Florence Hostel

Via Porta Rossa 6, Florence, Italy

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 57%

Location 94%

Safety 75%

Staff 72%

Value 73%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please note that we have 24h reception but still, we need you re-confirm your arrival time by e-mail.
City tax it is not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 57%

Location 94%

Safety 75%

Staff 72%

Value 73%

Showing 11-20 of 31 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was fantastic.

Disliked: Although the website stated a 24hr reception, there was no member of staff to let us into the building to check-in, another guest let us in and we then called for staff assistance.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is right in the centre of Florence.

Disliked: You need keys to go upstairs and have a shower, and there is only one set of keys, which is a problem if there are others in your room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Marta is really friendly host. There is kettle and fridge for guests.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location - 5 mins to Uffizi, Duomo, ponte Vecchio

Disliked: One toilet/shower for 3 rooms. Also combined so couldn't go to toilet if someone used shower. Toilet shower not cleaned during our stay - 2 nights.There is no reception desk. Fortunately caretaker was around when we arrived although bit upset we hadn't contacted beforehand to tell our arrival time. He did speak English and was able to direct us to some free parking Piazzo Michelangelo (worth going to!) and gave us a paper mapDidn't see him again and wasn't in when I knocked on his door on 2nd floor

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice location, right in the centre and not far from the station, really nice cheap restaurant right opposite

Disliked: Only one bathroom for all the rooms, no air con so very hot, the guy was not very friendly or helpful, the directions to the hostel aren't great, take a map with you, there are no lockers to put your bags

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Honestly, the only good thing I have to say about the property is that the location is fantastic

Disliked: I have actually never ever negatively reviewed something in all our years of travelling as usually the positives outweigh the inevitable negatives. Also I am not one to whinge as we are flexible travelers but I feel people need to know that this property is not as is advertised. - Our room opened out to a back alley. Not sure if it was for this reason but the room stank of stale cigarettes and if we tried to air it out the room stank like sewage. Not to mention the swarms of mosquitoes that came in if the door was open (not hostels fault about the mosquitoes but it would be good to have repellent in reception if they are aware this is a problem)- You have to pay for towels, this is not advertised, it says linen is included. As these are private rooms it is normal to include towels.- Our room shared a wall with the bathroom. From early morning it was noisy with bathroom sounds and you can't sleep. Also people talking loudly from 6am using the bathroom (but that's not the hostel's fault) although the room mustn't be very sound proof as it was like they were in our room. If you get a double room maybe ask for it not to be adjacent to the toilet.- Main complaint was the bathroom. We are quick users of the bathroom and never mind sharing one but this was ridiculous. It was gross. Dirty wet and soggy at ALL times, no toilet paper on occasions, blocked shower, tiny. I could put up with this, but the worst thing is that there is ONE bathroom for a floor. On our floor there were at least 15 beds from what I saw. 15 people using ONE bathroom - what a joke. The line was 3 people deep wanting to shower etc from 7am - 10:30am. You couldn't even use the toilet as it's the same room as the shower. Ridiculous. Thank goodness one of the guys in the line took pity and allowed me to jump in to use the toilet. If you stay here and the hostel is busy I'd recommend showering at night and using a toilet in a cafe or something... They need to either add a bathroom and separate toilet/shower or have less capacity. The last thing you want to do with your precious days in Florence is line up for an hour for a simple shower and use of the toilet (or beg to jump in the shower queue to relieve yourself). I have never experienced this in any type of accommodation, ever!- We had a friend in florence and they were not allowed to come upstairs with us whilst we collected a jumper and a few items in the afternoon because they were not on the booking. They had to wait outside and it was quite embarrassing being treated like a small child who could not have a friend over. We clearly were not going to throw a party in the room and were only a few minutes. This situation probably won't affect many travelers though.- The room itself was nothing like described and frankly we couldn't wait to get out of there. For the price they charge you would think they could at least make the room a bit more pleasant, it would take minimal cost and effort... i.e. at least ensure all the rooms are furnished like the pictures. And with the awful smell it definitely needs a plug in scent dispenser or something. The room was so dark and dingy we felt like we were staying in some gross pub who didn't care about the customer's comfort. This place needs to step up their game before they start losing customers, we were very disappointed. Hopefully your experience will be better but this is our honest recount.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room was clean and the location was fantastic. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: The towels are not provided, the cost 1 euro. Also the beds are not very comfortable. It was confusing to me why a private room would cost more with two people.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room we had was sufficient.

Disliked: The hostel owner was incredibly rude and actually shouted at us on the night we arrived. After having a flight cancelled and arriving late in the evening after almost a full days travelling it was only out of desperation that we agreed to take the room, had we known anywhere else in the area we wouldn't have and I wish we hadn't. The walls of our room were paper thin and we could hear people coming and going at all hours of the day and night. There was also only one small toilet and shower combined for 5 rooms, most with 3 beds in so there was always a queue to use the facilities.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is perfect

Disliked: Really noisy at night, no recepcionist on site to complain about it, too many guesst for the bathroom so alway have to wait for a long time to get in.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The accommodation was located close to the central station and all the major atractions can be covered with foot from the hostel. It is necessary to pre-inform the caretaker about when you would most likely be arriving (else you may not find him there). The room is very spacious and the linen provided was clean. For someone searching for a place to spend the night at so low a price, this is the most reasonable hostel.

Disliked: Theere were only two bathrooms present and in the mornings, when you are in a hurry, they may not be free.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability