Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Gallo d'Oro Florence Hostel

Via Cavour 104, Florence, Italy

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 96%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

We have a 48hr cancellation policy: reservations can be modified of cancelled up to 48 hours before arrival

The City of Florence, applies a tourism tax to non-residents for a maximum of 7 consecutive nights. The rate is € 1.50 per person per night.

- Please note that Ostello Gallo d'Oro is comprised of two buildings located next to each other. At your check-in, our staff will assist you by accompanying you to either building.

Please let us know ahead of time if your estimated arrival time changes, so we can make sure to be there to greet you!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 96%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

Showing 1-10 of 116 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


12 Aug 2019

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Helpful staff and great amenities on site!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating


15 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Walking distance to major Florence attractions

Disliked: Staff were rude and seemed annoyed to answer questions

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It was a great property, right balance for air conditioning, great breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The dinner buffets and the casual atmosphere.

Disliked: It was not a big deal, but having limited toilet facilities meant they got dirty quite quickly, even though they were regularly and well cleaned.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It was clean and the staff was friendly. It was also conveniently located walking distance from most landmarks.

Disliked: The hand towels in the bathroom were always wet from multiple use. It would be great if they had a shelf with extra or an alternative hand drying method.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The staff was always so friendly and attentive, they were always willing to help and gave extra tips for the city. The hostel is really close to everything by foot. Breakfast was great and they even put more food during the day.The rooms were really clean and nice. The girl from the desk even offered me to change to a girl dorm as the other one were only boys. It was definitely a great stay at Florence

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Absolutely everything

Disliked: The fact the doors didn't lock on their own

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: There s always food and beverage going on for the guests to take.

Disliked: When i got there i got a very bad attitude from the receptionist ( the blond one with blue eyes and eagleish nose). She was very rude and authoritative with someone who had got there very tired from a long trip: me. Also i then asked her for a recomendation of where to have a meal nearby and sent me for a 15 minute walk. Brought my concept of the place very down, considering how cool the place is. It s a real pitty.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Living quarters were cleaned a day. The dorms were a bit crowded but i didnt care since i was looking for a clean place to sleep. Staff very helpful as well. It was so well kept, it brand new. The meals served were also very convenient. recommended.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating


01 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location within easy walking distance of the center of Florence. Amazing food available all day. Staff very helpful and friendly and they gave us free maps. Comfortable area to socialize. Clean and comfortable and secure lockers to store our belongings. Washing machine and dryer available. Good air conditioning.

Disliked: Slightly confusing to find at first as we arrived in Florence without a map. Showers not very private.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability