Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Gallo d'Oro Florence Hostel

Via Cavour 104, Florence, Italy

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 96%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

We have a 48hr cancellation policy: reservations can be modified of cancelled up to 48 hours before arrival

The City of Florence, applies a tourism tax to non-residents for a maximum of 7 consecutive nights. The rate is € 1.50 per person per night.

- Please note that Ostello Gallo d'Oro is comprised of two buildings located next to each other. At your check-in, our staff will assist you by accompanying you to either building.

Please let us know ahead of time if your estimated arrival time changes, so we can make sure to be there to greet you!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 96%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

Showing 31-40 of 116 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is amazing!!! They are very helpful and very friendly. I choose this place because I read the good reviews but when I came there It was even better. I couldn't expect such a nice place.' I really felt like I was at home. I booked a room to share with 6 pax but I was upgraded to a 4 pax room. The breakfast amazing even better than a 2-3 stars hotel. My room was so clean and they gave me a key for my locker.

Disliked: For me the only thing I didn't like it was that they don't accept to pay with card.... but I was only one night and It wasn't too much money.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Alicia is the ultimate hostess! Friendly, always happy and smiling and caring for the guest! Also, the breakfast buffet is huge and varied and they also provide food throughout the day to snack on! The value for money here is excellent!!! I highly recommend it!

Disliked: Is it just a tiny bit far from the center -15 minutes walk - but still close enough to walk around and enjoy the city center as Florence is small and very 'walkable'! Also, there is a sewage smell from the bathroom which is unpleasant.Regardless of these little set backs, the positive point are so amazing that I would come here a d stay again!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly welcome, food on the table for the hungry traveller, quiet for sleeping, nice breakfast

Disliked: The description of the directions was slightly ambiguous, and could have been more helpful.It was a bit further from the centre of things than I've been used to, but that's no great problem. It's my fault that I'm getting old.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: Great room and location, plus helpful staff. Also they put on a good breakfast

Disliked: No cooking favilities

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very kind, the hostel is located near everything.

Disliked: The wifi needs improving, air conditioner is a must have. We went in summer, august, and it was very Hot, the fan did not work properly and the air was very Hot. The staff is kind and wonderful, we loved them. Thanks

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


03 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and great location

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Included breakfast! Cereals, yoghurt, pastries, fruit, coffee/tea. Meats and cheese, toast... and more pastries! It was a valuable feed.

Disliked: Our bathroom in room 3 smelled of sewage and I think the design of the toilet is strange - I know that a lot of the toilets in Italy dip in the front of the bowl. There was a seat, which is a rarity but because it was the disabled room, the seat was higher, and made your time a little distressing with this gap in the bowl (to put it nicely and without super amounts of detail).

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It felt very homey! The fresh baked pastries every morning were amazing! The staff really treated you like family.

Disliked: Far from the train station, (we couldn't find the bus and had to walk with luggage there and needless to say that was no fun). Once you find the bus, its super easy though

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everyone was so so friendly and accommodating! Plus nice facilities and a good location! Fabulous place!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful!. I had my best stay in Italy here. Ask the staff to get a reservation for you at the restaurant Trattoria da Tito and make sure you sit "where the action is", you'll never forget! :).

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability