Website feedback

Reviews of A Scalinatella Amalfi Hostel

Piazza Umberto 1 5/6, 84010 Atrani, Amalfi, Italy

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 82%

Staff 94%

Value 80%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Bar APM-96
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Towels Included

Important Information

All guests must arrive before 18.00pm as reception will only be open for the check in between 10.00am until 18.00pm. Please telephone or e-mail for any problems.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amalfi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 82%

Staff 94%

Value 80%

Showing 41-50 of 74 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We were basically in our own little complex in what I would guess was more of a residential area. It was great walking through the pathway to our rooms. The plaza was a ton of fun at night, and you really just felt like you were part of the community.

Disliked: I really can't think of much property wise, however it was a little disappointing that the beach appeared to be all private and we couldn't figure out how to get access to it. On the other side, the beach was beautifully kept.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location!! Right in the main square of Atrani, and beaches very close by.Lovely owners and great breakfast (with good coffee!)!!

Disliked: No common area\\room so could be difficult for single travelers to meet others.No wifi in the hostel, only down in the breakfast area (located in the main square)Only 2 keys for our 6 bedded dorm

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is quiter than almfi.

Disliked: The steff is helpless.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Sin dudas lo mejor el dasayuno. Ubicación a metros de una playita muy buena y la atención también.

Disliked: Las habitaciones eran como cuevas con muchisima humedad.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atrani is perfect - it is a short distance from Amalfi but has a better beach and better vibe. The hotel was basic, but great value for money. I would go back again!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: An excellet location but barebones as per lonely planet review is correct. Staff lovely and clearly wanting to help even when their IT systems failed them.

Disliked: No shower screens around shower right above toilet. Everything was clean and would be fine by south east Asian standards, not Italian. All our hostels on this trip were similar price range and this was the worst bathroom situation.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located in a small fishing village, but is also 15 minutes walk to the center of Amalfi, nice staff, clean rooms and showers-basic amenities

Disliked: Advertised that they offer wifi, which they do but you have to go to the town square (5 minutes walk away) to have access to it, bathrooms need remodelling, bedrooms and hostel overall needs to be more secure

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Best deal at picturesque and expensive Amalfi coast. Room modest, although clean. The small town of Atrani is charming and nearby Amalfi. Notify that they are linked by pedestrian tunnel and a small passage through the steps along the hills. Don't go alongside the road.

Disliked: You'd better ask for the way to it.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The people who operate this hostel are wonderful and so helpful. Breakfast is wonderful!

Disliked: The other office is difficult to find. I arrived after the front office was closed.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The brothers that own and run Scalinatella are extremely friendly and helpful people. The rooms exceeded my expectations in terms of space and cleanliness. My favourite part of my stay was the morning breakfasts complete with smiley face cappuccinos. I liked the Atrani and Amalfi region so much that I ended up extending my stay at Scalinatella Hostel by an additional 3 nights.

Disliked: It was a bit difficult to find the property, initially. I wish that the directions were a bit more detailed describing how to get from the bus stop at Amalfi to the hostel. Once you find Piazza Umberto, the locals and cafe staff in the Piazza will direct you to the hostel. Once you do find Scalinatella, you'll see that it's a real hidden gem!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability