Website feedback

Reviews of A Scalinatella Amalfi Hostel

Piazza Umberto 1 5/6, 84010 Atrani, Amalfi, Italy

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 82%

Staff 94%

Value 80%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Bar APM-96
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Towels Included

Important Information

All guests must arrive before 18.00pm as reception will only be open for the check in between 10.00am until 18.00pm. Please telephone or e-mail for any problems.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amalfi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 82%

Staff 94%

Value 80%

Showing 11-20 of 74 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really loved staying here! the atmosphere is great!! Filippo and Gabrielle are amazing!!

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close enough to Amalfi and other coast towns, though quite difficult to find at first. From Amalfi to Atrani, you have to find a hidden pedestrian tunnel. And, within Atrani, it is very difficult to find the check-in point. The rooms are very basic. Hard beds and makeshift shower head with no basin or curtain - so the entire bathroom is the shower.

Disliked: I don't really understand why this hostel has such overwhelmingly positive reviews. There was nothing egregiously wrong, but I certainly would not recommend it at all. Our private room was near the bell tower in town, which rings loudly every 15 minutes throughout the night. Horrible. But I did not feel safe staying in the main hostel building. Also, there is no Wifi. The Wifi is supposed to be available in the "lobby" but the lobby is closed except for 3 hours a day, and, even when open, the Wifi is inconsistent at best - basically non-existent. It was certainly not worth the price charged.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is very good and is located in a very strategic location. Just 5 minutes walking from Amalfi. The staff was really special, particularly, Fillippo, and the room was clean. I really recommend this place, the price and location are perfect. Cheers, Dony

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing beautiful small village, Such a relief from the tourist hype of Sorrento and so peaceful even compared to Amalfi. What a gem.You really feel like you are in rural Italy.

Disliked: No Kitchen but great to have a contintal breakfast at least/

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely location, easy walk to Amalfi, and a beautiful bit of coastline. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms had great character and very clean and quiet.

Disliked: A bit makeshift in places - shower in our room was held together with wire, but this didn't detract from the generally positive experience!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel owners were very personable and helpful for the duration of our stay. They even upgraded my sister and I to a room for 4 because it was a slower time and they were not full!

Disliked: No complaints about our stay!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location at 50meters from Atrani beach and a nice walk of about 10 minutes to Amalfi.

Disliked: A little expensive for what it is but everything is expensive in Amalfi.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: fantastic location and lovely friendly owners. nice breakfast

Disliked: very basic, just a place to sleep

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The private room was a good size.

Disliked: The town church bell was right next to our room and went off numerous times every 15 minutes all night, it was very difficult to sleep even with the windows shut which made it hot. The private rooms were not part of the hostel and were in another building. The wifi was in the main square that was a 3-4 minute walk away from both the hostel and private rooms making it difficult to use.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the brothers that own this place are soooo nice! last check in is a 6 pm so i called to say we are arriving later at 8-9 and he waited for us until we got there to bring us to our room! he also upgraded us to a 4 dorm at no added cost. our room had huge windows and you were able to hang your clothes outside. the breakfast croissant is really good and you are a 5 min walk from amalfi city.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability