Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers Citihostel Dublin Hostel

61-62 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 50%

Cleanliness 38%

Facilities 42%

Location 74%

Safety 53%

Staff 65%

Value 54%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 50%

Cleanliness 38%

Facilities 42%

Location 74%

Safety 53%

Staff 65%

Value 54%

Showing 61-70 of 80 reviews

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nothing. We got out of there as quickly as we could.

Disliked: this hostel is probably the worst I've stayed in. As a young girl I didn't not feel safe. There is no reason for 21 year old girls to be in a room with 50 year old men. The check in was a shambles! If I didn't have my confirmation email they would have let us walk away..The bathrooms were discussing, piss all over the floor. Security may as well not exsist, my boyfriend arrived at midnight after work. Te security guard meerly asked where he was going, when he said bed he was allowed to enter. No room confirmation or anything.Our room overlooked the beergarden which was allowed to kick on until after 6.30am. Glasses and pot plants smashing. People running Though the hotel at 6am trying to break down te bedroom door. The police were never called, and when we went to see the manager in the mornin he was no where to be seen. Just a large NO REFUNDS sign hanging at reception. We only stayed here as abigails was booked out for a concert, we were straight back here in the morning! Do not stay!!

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The location is okay

Disliked: The staff doesn't speak good English, it is REALLY dirty, the doors did not close properly and people could easily find out the code to the dorms, no breakfast, the showers and toilets were just DISGUSTING, the beds weren't close enough to the wall so you could fall in the gap, the bed sheets were dirty, they didn't have a computer for check in and all that, the windows did not close properly so it was always cold

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: A kitchen was available for travellers to use. Also it was a good location.

Disliked: The bathrooms and showers provided were extremely dirty. No toliet paper was provided and the showers were constantly overflowing, meaning if you decided to shower, you had to stand in ankle-deep cold water.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff.

Disliked: Showers were not very good.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: clean bed, kitchen

Disliked: very noisy from the Dart, no curtain on the window. someone opened the window and the noise was worse and it was cold. he refused to close it and even when the staf closed it he opened it again

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: mt bacana, os funcionarios saum os melhores, sempre dando atencao aos clientes. Lembro de Miguel , Mira e Patrick pessoas mt boas mt atenciosas, sempre levando o hostel a um difrente level e uma diferente atmosfera.

Disliked: NAda a reclamar

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the atmosphere & friendliness of the people its like a big family.

Disliked: the toilets were very cold & the shower was to hot

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: there was a big group of us and the staff offered us 2 private rooms for some of us which was nice. The room was nice and cosy with a table and couches. however it was extremely cheap and overall it was worth it. Lastly the staffs were generally friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The shower inside the room got too hot to have a shower and always flooded. the shared showers and toilets were not good at all. some people that stayed there looked like junkies and in general the atmosphere was quite dark. we were in a group so that didnt affect us at all but definately not recommemded if you are going there alone

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness of staff, location.

Disliked: it could be more tidy.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was excellent. There was a kitchen we could use. One of the employees was quite helpful and nice. It was really cheap. Free wifi that worked so-so in the room. Free luggage storage.

Disliked: Like everyone has said, this hostel is absolutely filthy. You feel like you can't touch anything without getting a disease. Black mold is everywhere...the floors seem to be caving in...the shower water is cold for like 20 min before it finally heats up. The main bathroom for the first floor reeks and is very awkward to use. I had to get new toilet paper for all 3 toilets...as if I was working there. A couple of the employees are not helpful/are really strange and act confused/annoyed when you say you'd like to stay there. There seemed to be a lot of older men staying there...and I think one of them tried to come into our unlocked bedroom but left quickly when he saw us.

Check Availability