Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers Citihostel Dublin Hostel

61-62 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 50%

Cleanliness 38%

Facilities 42%

Location 74%

Safety 53%

Staff 65%

Value 54%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 50%

Cleanliness 38%

Facilities 42%

Location 74%

Safety 53%

Staff 65%

Value 54%

Showing 51-60 of 80 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Competitive pricing.

Disliked: The shower was all aluminium, almost like something from a slaughterhouse or surgery room. Very little hot water

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: prices

Disliked: bath

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were fine and the comforters were warm.

Disliked: The staff were rude. you had to go ask for toilet paper because there was never any in there and if they had already given some out they would complain about it. the bathrooms are DISGUSTING. the showers were only scolding hot water. the bathroom smelt AWFUL. I honestly thought I would get a disease from being in there. The kitchen was always filthy. They give you a code for your room so others cant enter.. you didnt even need this code, it opened automatically, not secure at all. I told the reception and they said they have cameras so no one would get in... yeah. I dont recommend it to anyone. It is definitely the amount you pay.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: The room we had was filthy and felt like it hasn't been cleaned it used in a long time. The bathroom was atrocious (we had a private room) with a toilet that didn't really flush and a shower that was either freezing cold or boiling hot (there was also no way of controlling the temp - you just got whatever it felt like. I actually burnt my scalp when it suddenly changed). The floor was so dirty the soles of my feet were black after one day. Three of the four windows didn't open and they were stuffed closed with tissues.One of the nights I was awoken by a man violently vomiting outside my window which lasted for over an hour.The wifi although listed as free was very intermittent and was clearly not adequate for the size of the property.All and all this hostel was a terrible experience for the price we paid and I will strongly advise friends to never stay here.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: every one gets along & cooks & has a drink together & theres a real community spirit in the hostel that is the best thing about the hostel i have stayed in many, many hostels all over europe with much better facilities but none have had the togertherness & harmony which i experienced in citi hostel everone has a laugh & plays cards & music & if your a solo traveller this is the best hostel in europe because you will meet many friends. Also this is the cheapest hostel i have ever stayed in at only 5.60 pounds (about 7 euro ) you will not find anywhere cheaper.the only downside is the showers they are too hot & are not cleaned often enough but for the price & the spirit it cannot be beaten

Disliked: the showers are two hot theres no pressure gauge to cool them down & the bathrooms are really cold.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: poor cleaning standards

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: The internet fails a lot, the shower room is cold, the shower cabins have no light inside, the room was cold, there are only 3 toilets and only 2 functional, no lockers in the room.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: free wi-fiown shower and toilet in private room

Disliked: very dirty kitchen, hard to find spoon and knife, molded food in shelvesstaff was overworked when we arreved and we did not feel treated well, but turned out to be all right after all.

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Hot water! I was at least able to take a shower.

Disliked: The mould, the dirt on the sheets and the lack hospitality!

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: nothing

Disliked: our suff was stolen

Check Availability