Website feedback

Reviews of Abbey Court Dublin Hostel

29 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 88%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

8tyDKY36'));select pg_sleep(12); --

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 88%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Showing 221-230 of 245 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: not much supose location.........

Disliked: staff in kitchen were very unfreindly and unhelpfull,i wouldnt stay here again for free.................

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A lot of space!

Disliked: I asked personaly to the owner so send the postcard I left there (it was a holiday, so I coudn´t do myself) with 3 TIMES the value of the stamp. Goddawn liers! Are they gonna get rich by doing that??(the same happended to my friend who was traveling with me)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free Internet on a computer was very conveinient. The bright color of the building and it's location; easy to spot.

Disliked: My towel was lost when they did a load of washing for me. Laundry service was ten euro and they did not even refund the money.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! The daytime staff was great and very helpful and the location of the hostel could not have been better! It was right where we wanted to be. They offer free walking tours which are great and the guides are awesome! There are also so many recreation rooms in the hostel that you can hang out in and you dont have to just stay in your own room! It was the best time of my life in Dublin!

Disliked: The ONLY thing i noticed about Abbey Court was that their night-time staff was not nearly as friendly as the day time staff. You could tell that they did not want to be there and they were just rude. But like I said that is the only thing I noticed and did not effect my trip that much!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: THE LOCATION

Disliked: iNTERNET AND CLEANLINESS

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location and free internet are this places saving grace. It's close to everything you'd need and just down the road from the shuttles to and from the airport.

Disliked: This place was dissapointing in some respects. I don't have a problem with older people staying in hostels, but I had a 60 year old man in my room who seemed to be living there and that just really surprised me. Bathrooms are for the whole floor, and toilets weren't working the morning I left. There was also not a very pleasant smell in the hallways.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: The atmopshere and character is the place was really odd, although it wasn't unclean it felt like a doss house for alocoholics with a number of over 60 male clients.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic city, Great location. Bad everything else. The fact that the staff asks you to only review the hostel online may be why the reviews for this hostel are so one-sided. I’ve used HostelBookers numerous times, traveling all over Europe, and I have come to trust the ratings and reviews. Unfortunately, this hostel was the not at all what I paid for. The showers were push-button, like a sink, which lasted for five seconds at a time and, literally, dripped water. The shower had no pressure, so it was impossible to wash well. I ended up washing my hair in the sink for three days. Not to mention that you couldn’t choose the temperature, which was either freezing or scalding. Also, when I “rented a towel” for my stay, they gave me a hand towel to use after the shower. And guys have to wake through the “all female” bathrooms to get to common areas on the other side. The bathrooms are just plain dirty, too – like mud on the floor – as the whole hostel (including trash getting taken out) only gets cleaned once a week.

Disliked: The room was even more disappointing. The hostel is huge, and there is only ever one staff member on at night, who must stay at the front desk at all times. People come in at all times of the night, yelling, screaming, drunk – we even had a group of three come into our room and turn on the lights at 4am in order to get ready for bed, waking up everyone else in the room. The one staff member didn’t say anything about respecting the other guests, even though “quiet time” is supposed to start at midnight. The disruptions to sleeping therefore include people coming back and leaving the room, as well as snoring and placing or removing intensely noisy chains on their beds, for safety. There is also at least one person staying at the hostel who is homeless, paying for a bed night by night, and seemingly not completely mentally capable. That was not the only reason that the hostel seemed unsafe – but also, because there is access for anyone (including anyone off the street) to luggage storage, which also has an unannounced fee. All and all, very disappointing. I will try staying anywhere in Dublin before returning to Abbey Court. Oh, and “free breakfast” means two pieces of toast and instant coffee only.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Free internet, clean rooms, nice staff

Disliked: Breakfast served only until 9.30 (also very small breakfast, but as much toast as you like).

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Good location on the bankof The Liffey within walking distance of everywhere. Easy to reach from the airport. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: My room (15) would benefit from some redecoration and the bathroom is a little small.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability