Website feedback

Reviews of My Place Dublin Dublin Hostel

89-90 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 66%

Location 85%

Safety 77%

Staff 79%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Cancellation 24 hours before 11am on arrival day will result in having to pay for the first nights stay.
We cannot allow children under the age of 16 to stay, we may be forced to cancel any booking upon arrival if any people in that booking are under 16 years of age.
Bookings may be subject to Pre-Authorization of the credit card used to book, this is a test payment of the balance

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 66%

Location 85%

Safety 77%

Staff 79%

Value 84%

Showing 41-50 of 69 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy to find, good location, when you keep the price in mind. Very big place, and the kitchen is enormous, since it's combined with the common room. A bit spacy atmosphere when I was there, 'cause some people seemed to be living there. But all very friendly! Amazing beds! Everything is in good proportion to the price. You have to deal with the old architecture, and a lot of halls and floors, and the bathrooms in the basement looks like something from Harry Potter movie. But if the weird arrangements of halls and rooms doesn't creep you out, you will find a very cheap, safe, clean, friendly, huge and comfortable hostel.

Disliked: Only two sockets for charging my phone in the room with 8 beds. So, nothing I really disliked.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location is perfect !

Disliked: Cleanliness was poor.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: staff is very good

Disliked: the bathroom is very poor

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location, 5 min walk distance to the heart of Dublin

Disliked: A bit noisy in the room.... I know, there are many people, but some of them don't consider other sleeping and don't make much effort to enter quietly or to turn off mobile phone in the night.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good common room, with pool table and plenty of lounges.

Disliked: Terrible mattress.Showers quite dirty and water only warm. Night staff left front desk for 10 minutes and was left waiting out the front in the cold.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: amabilidad del personal

Disliked: mucho ruido en el hostal de al lado y se escuchaba mucho en nuestra habitacion.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to oconnell st

Disliked: Bathrooms were not clean. Sowers flooded due to blocked drains. Not any atmosphere

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Found it to be nice and quite.Location was very good.It would be nice if I could make a specail deal with My Place Hostel if I was to stay there on a regular base about four night a week while I'm in Dublin.

Disliked: Only thing was the hand basin semm to be blocked for when leting out the water seems to run very slowly out.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location

Disliked: There were no air conditioning or fans in the rooms. Once it was extremely hot in Ireland this summer (which is very uncommon), it was impossible do stay inside the rooms. We went to the kitchen to try to sleep properly, because there is a window there.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very cheap but we got what we paid for, kinda crappy place for very little money. The staff were nice. Great location but so do the dozen other hostels in the street.

Disliked: The 21 bed dorm was like a sweatbox with no openable windows and a fan circulating hot air and the stink of stale sweat, the showers smelled like an open sewer and the water flow and temperature was irregular, total lack of any spirit or atmosphere not even so much as a tv in the lobby.

Check Availability