Website feedback

Reviews of Da Rifi Hostel Surabaya Hostel

Jl. Duku II /190, Pondok Candra Indah, Surabaya 60, Surabaya, Indonesia

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 83%

Location 65%

Safety 79%

Staff 93%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surabaya?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 83%

Location 65%

Safety 79%

Staff 93%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The friendliness of the owner, Mrs Dyana

Disliked: bathroom next to our room needed repair, others was ok.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very home like, its just the best place to chill out. Breakfast is great a mix between western and indonesian, freshly home made everyday!

Disliked: The directions to the hostel don't go further then the dunkin' donuts but you still need to figure out where the place is. I went for the easy way and took a taksi

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is totally ok for that price.You get, what you paid. Furthermore the family runnong the hostel is very nice and does everything.

Disliked: Wifi is only downsstairs where you are getting eaten alive by mosquitos during the evening

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner was a real help and full of information. She gave me all the information on how to get to Mt. Bromo and the prices that should be paid. The breakfast was also good.

Disliked: I got A LOT of mosquito bites in one night, like 10. And the bathroom could have been cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Dianna going out of her way to accomodate, and more. Home cooked breakfasts.

Disliked: Location is pretty far from everything else, not many restaurants aroudn the area.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well i thing is Diana the owner such a nice woman the hostel is just as she described close by to the airport imply is not downtown, the atmosphere is just i fell in London UK...secure and relax.

Disliked: Nothing is just as she described, I've read pretty bad opinions about the Da rifi i think they were wrong unhappy people or morons.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Diana organised a driver for me when I wanted to go to the Hypermarket - everything is such a long way away - Surabaya is a very busy place with zillions of motor bikes and traffic, and I felt quite safe with the driver. It is in a quiet neighbourhood, so if you wanted to stay put and chill out for a few days this could be ok.

Disliked: I was offered a fan (not air-con), and no towel or city tour as advertised. There are 2 Dunkin Donut places in Surabaya - the one that this Hostel is near to is further than the first one so minibus drivers can be easily confused. It took the driver a long time to find the place (and he wanted more money for it , and even more - I ended up paying 8000IDR instead of the advertised 3000IDR) and it is definitely a lot more than 200 metres from the main road and Dunkin Donuts. There was no key for the dormitory door, however it felt quite safe at night but I wasn't ok about leaving my valuables (electronic stuff) when I went out. The lounge area is not really conducive to relaxing and there is a lot of clutter everywhere - however, the potential here is enormous if the place was cleaned up. Diana is a lovely person and welcoming. I was overcharged $2 when I checked my deposit against balance later on after I had left. I do not know if this was an oversight or intentional. The hot water shower had some dysfunction going on and would get scalding hot every few seconds, for a few seconds, then back to normal for a while - perhaps a pump issue. It wouldn't take much to get this place into shape and with a pick-up from the train station, would make this Hostel a better place to stay. While all this sounds a bit negative, I did enjoy my stay - I hope that Diana can get the support she needs to put some finishing touches to make the place something to look forward to. My confirmation from Hostelbookers said that it was a 2-bed dorm, but it was 4 bed.


The property's response is

Dear Michelle,
Thank you for your rating and let me explain what you think about Da Rifi Hostel:
Remember that our price is IDR 75,000 per night with spring bed and free breakfast, free laundry, free internet access, free taxi call, free restaurant order for delivery, and etc etc so many free here. It means by Australian Dollars 7, you still think Da Rifi is not worth? only 40 % for your value? You forget you got free corn soup when you said you are hungry, and you finished it? Oh My God!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything!!!! Most wonderful place and stay ....ive had in my travels!!!! The staff r sooo lovely and kind and soo helpful...just fab!!!!!! Would stay again!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly and helpful owner. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Mosquitos! A bit rundown. Weak AC at best.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I loved to stayed there, I felt at home, Diana is GREAT! and the food is really good!

Disliked: The location a little bit, but it was not a problem

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability