Website feedback

Suraj Guest House Guesthouse

CK1037 Lalita Ghat, Chowk Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, Varanasi, India

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 78%

Location 86%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Café
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Varanasi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 78%

Location 86%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 93 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very helpful staff and good breakfast

Disliked: Lack of a comfortable and large enough communal area to meet and mingle with other travellers. Making more use of the roof terrace would be worthwhile as views from the top are great!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Roof terrace and the tunnel to the ghats that's located just outside the front.

Disliked: We didn't feel very welcome

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: close to the ghat

Disliked: the area outside this property is extremely dirty. room has no air condition. outside temperature was 106 degrees with humidity.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location by the river (once you figure out the alley ways!) and good rooftop view. Friendly staff and comfortable room. Booked one night but stayed three.

Disliked: Rickshaw and tut tut drivers - can't seem to find the place or take you the wrong way deliberately! You will have t walk a bit to reach this hostel anyway due to narrow alleyways, but this applies to many hostels in the area.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location could not be better: it is a 2 minute walk from the river and the main ghat. The building had character and (while it would have been difficult to find alone) was in a dynamic little neighbourhood. It was nice sitting on the rooftop experiencing sunrise, but it was much nicer walking down to and along the river in the early morning, which is perfectly accessible and and enjoyable to do. Young Suraj was very nice and made the stay worthwhile. They also organized airport pick-up and were easy to find at the airport.

Disliked: It was a tale of two hosts: Suraj and Gaurav. Suraj was exceptionally friendly and helpful, walking me through the neighbourhood on the first night to find the best samosa, gulab jamun, and dhosa (three different places, incidentally) to bring back to the hostel. He was genuinely a good lad.On the other hand, there was Gaurav (and please note that I am unsure of his relationship to Suraj Guesthouse; he was the acting manager, but we believe that he was just standing in due to some unlucky circumstances for the family). My partner felt that each time I left the room, his behaviour changed uncomfortably. He took us on a quite expensive paid tour and spent the majority of the time on his cellphone arranging business for the hostel and a good portion of the time chatting with a single female from the hostel who hadn't paid for the tour. I strongly recommend the hostel, but discourage taking Gaurav as a knowledgeable guide. If you just wanted company, Gaurav would be perfectly fine as a guide; he will happily chat at you. However, for the money, he offered very little insight above what is available in a good guidebook or what was written on the side of the buildings. Our own walk along the river with a guidebook was as informative and more enjoyable.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly owner, in a good location near the Ghats and in the old city. But complicated to,find your way through the streets the other side of Varanasi but if you arrange a pick up through them the driver will walk you through the narrow streets

Disliked: An odd building, very steep thin steps up to the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful staff, location super close to the waterfront and several key ghats. Courtyard and rooftop to chill in. Cozy rooms.

Disliked: Way overpriced, at least if you book online. Not very social - mostly couples.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Absolutely nothing to complain about. Guesthouse is in a prime location. The owner/s are very friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome. I would have stayed longer... if I had stayed longer. Have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.

Disliked: You'd have to be a professional complainer(and they're out there) or a massive party animal to dislike anything about this guest house.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everyone there was so friendly and helpful, a real family atmosphere.The rooftop is great and I was happy not to see many monkeys (from other reviews I thought they would be all over it!)Great location close the the Ganges and the Ghats.Gurav was great, and funny and helpful and definitely made our stay :)Plus Lucky the dog was super cute too!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed here an extra night. The location is good near the river. The family are very welcoming.

Disliked: It's hard to find so I would suggest you organise for the guest house to pick you up from the airport. The cost is only 700 rupees and it takes 1hr 20 min.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability