Website feedback

Reviews of Oleander Hostel Budapest Hostel

Szep u. 5, Budapest, Hungary

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 74%

Location 93%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Free laundry after 4th night stay. Free breakfast from 1st of November till 1st of May. Free Budapest map.

Check in time is from 13-01(In case of earlier or later arrivals, please inform us by phone or email).
Attention: Please, be specific with your arrival time or your bed or room could be sold!. Parties are not allowed in our facilities.Common area is closed at 23:00 to ensure that guests who want to sleep can do so.

For groups: To ensure those rules, we ask groups a deposit which will be returned at check-out time
Since this booking engine doesn't ask for arrival time, after the booking is made, you will have to send us an email or give us a phone call to let us know your arrival time.

We have a part-time reception and check-ins are made upon appointment. If your arrival time changes, please, let us know by phone or email as soon as possible.
If you make a booking on the same day of your arrival date, you will have to send us an email or call us by phone to let us know your arrival time immediately after the booking is made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 74%

Location 93%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating


14 Jun 2018

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Its so clean, its seem like a house Alejandro was so kind and i like staying there

Disliked: Maybe be clear about the stuff for the breakfast, i didt problem but a 2 mexican before to go tried to eat something but they didnt find the free food

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Not a lot of people. Good common area. Wifi in the rooms

Disliked: Employees were never around

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very conveniences and friendly staff

Disliked: Queuing for bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Está muy bien ubicado, muy cerca del Danubio y del puente blanco, a quince minutos del Parlamento.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It was located quite close to the City centre, close to public transport and cafés. We could leave our bags on the day of departure in the hostel.

Disliked: The Bath rooms, especially the shower was dirty. It looked like nobody ever cleaned it. It was completely unorganised. The official Website stated a different check-in-time than hostelbookers, so that we arrived in front of closed doors. We were relocated fro one room to another after one night. We could not pay by card and were told to just pay later, but then suddenly we got a message that we should come back to the hostel and pay. The WiFi was not working properly.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Location is great - City center very close to the metro station.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Small scale, cosy hostel. Fanni was a great host, and was very flexible about when we could check-out and check-in. Plus free towels. Really a great hostel!

Disliked: The Russians that had also booked a stay at the hostel. (Cosy has disadvantages sometimes)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel pros are its location and atmosphere in one of the top districts of Budapest, a beautiful area indeed, and great staff (Alex and Csila are very nice and helpful). If you are travelling alone, I think it's ideal because you feel very safe, something that does not happen at all hostels.

Disliked: You might have to wait for a short time to take a shower,

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Many thanks once again to Csilla and Alejandro. I have stayed at Oleander twice before and will stay again when I return.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great. Good to meet other travellers in social area.

Disliked: I had booked an 8 bed dorm but I arrived and it was a 10 bed, then the owner put another bed in to the room. So it was very crowded and no where to move. There was just one shower for everyone to use which was ridiculous in the morning. It was very noisy when people came back drunk. The common area was very echoey. And with so many people it was dirty a lot of the time.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability