Website feedback

Reviews of Maverick Hostel & Ensuites Budapest Hostel

Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest, Hungary

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 93%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note that we do not accept any bookings from stag parties. In case of booking your reservation will be cancelled!

Pets are welcome in case of prior indication.

Credit cards not accepted. Payment is in Euro or HUF.

Cancellation 2 days prior to arrival is free, but cancellation IN less than 2days before arrival or no-show 100% of the whole stay will be charged.

Please note that 3,4 % city tax is not included into our rates. This extra fee will be added upon arrival at the hostel.

This property might pre-authorise the used credit card in order to secure your booking. If a pre-authorisation is not possible, for whatever reason, the property will ask you for valid card details. In case you don't provide them within a certain time, the property is entitled to cancel a reservation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 93%

Location 97%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 204 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We booked a twin room and they put us into a huge 19th century apartment! Fantastic! In addition to that, the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked your kitchen! toasted and coffee machine so genuisly! and free tea and coffee. I liked your family!

Disliked: Its really good. I was so glad stay in there. But maybe should be more activities for guests.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating


28 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only stayed here one night. It was good-- I slept well and the bathrooms were clean.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, cool building and convenient location.

Disliked: one of the few hostels I have stayed at that I have no complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: On the central of everything.location is amazing

Disliked: A bit expensive

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pasé una noche en el dormitorio de 10 y todo perfecto. Céntrico pero mucho más tranquilo que los situados en la zona de Dob utca y Kazinczy utca, donde hay mucha marcha nocturna.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and very helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating


23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel is in a beautiful building and the accommodation is relatively characterful, although there is not a lot of atmosphere. It's close to a bus stop, although this advantage is cancelled out by the inaccurate and unhelpful directions (see below). It's in a nice area (but that applies to most of Budapest).

Disliked: The directions to the hostel are wrong: they tell you to use the underpass in front of the hostel but it turned out that they meant the one behind it. I followed the instructions precisely (despite not being able to see the river from there which they expect you to telepathically orient yourself relative to) and thus was unable to find it until I circled the general area at length: with my 60 kg of luggage this was extremely annoying. After eventually arriving, I had to go out and get cash to pay (as they either charge you extra to use a card or don't allow it at all). When I came back the building concierge insisted on trying to show me in Hungarian how to open the door with the keypad. I was tired and just wanted to check in first, and was only there for a night anyway. The hostel should have explained to him not to do this, as they then issued me an entry card, making any numerical code redundant. I had booked a six-bed dorm but was put in a small room with seven beds. As a group of friends had three of the four beds on the floor, I chose one of the three beds on a raised platform. Unfortunately, two more people came and took the other beds up there. They were very narrow (about two feet) and unbelievably close together (less than a foot) such that even the 'far' bed was closer to me that the next bed usually would be in a dorm. The luggage room was too small so some people had to just leave their bags in public areas and hope for the best.


The property's response is

We would like to apologize for the problems you have experienced at us. We have since talked to the concierge to be a lot more friendly and flexible with our guests. We have also checked and corrected our directions. Furthermore we have reorganized the set up and removed some furniture from the dorm where you have stayed to create a bit more space. Sorry again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: great location, helpful staff, good price rate, I can just recommend!

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Relaxation / spa

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at, insofar as I could surmise from one night's stay. Clean, lots of character, friendly staff, good price, great location...no complaints at all!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability