Website feedback

Reviews of Australian Guest house Hong Kong Hostel

Block D, 16/F, Flat D7, Chungking Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong China

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 86%

Safety 75%

Staff 70%

Value 73%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

Important Information

In an event of No-show without cancellation or a late cancellation, Australian Guest House has the right to charge the full amount of your stay at their hostel.

Cancellation Policy

Guests can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 3 days before arrival. Payments made onlineare non-refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hong Kong?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 86%

Safety 75%

Staff 70%

Value 73%

Showing 1-10 of 106 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property has just been renovated so everything was new. It is small but in HK that is normal unless you want to pay a high price.

Disliked: I disliked the $25.00 HK dollars service charge each day. There was no mention of this on the website but when I checked in I was told I need to pay an extra $25.00 per day for service which includes a clean towel.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: when we check in at hotel the hotel transfer us to another buildling.they said australia on 16th floor is fulled.cnt do anything and have to move to another room opposite side. Tissue paper s not enough dnt have refill. And cleaning room look like didnt do. And another building cnt leave baggages after check out so we have to take all luggages to 16 th floor again. .so uncomfortably..so tired.. Actually we want to stay here... Next time if u dnt have rooms at chungking pls tell before..disappointed veryvery..

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: These guys remembered me and were very helpful they even returned my watch after I had left it the time before!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Good location, very friendly and nice staff, clean room, there is safe box in the room,and the room is good. Good for stay!

Disliked: The price was a little bit high.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good Facilities!Good Location!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property is centrally located, very clean and has everything you need.

Disliked: The ground floor of the Chungking Mansion feels like walking into Little India. I found a lot of the people working in the ground floor to be very pushy offering good fake watches, tailors and restaurants. However if you walk into the building like you live there, they will usual leave you alone. Secondly they have what seems like the worlds slowest elevator and there is usually a line to get in.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and very clean!

Disliked: The staff were very business like, there was not a friendly feeling about the place but having said this all we wanted was somewhere to sleep at night and it delivered very well on this.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its geographical location is excellent. The room was clean, comfortable and pretty quiet.

Disliked: The staff were not friendly nor helpful. They offered a substandard room to us when we had booked the deluxe room. Payment was requested before seeing the room (but can be avoided if you ask firmly). The actual location of the hostel, Chungking Mansions, was disgusting; a cheap and nasty market. Access to the guesthouse via an incredibly slow lift to the 16th floor. Tiny, poorly-designed wetroom/bathroom.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location. If it's just for sleeping, great value than a 5 stars hotel. If you need to take a swim in a pool, there's the beautiful public pool practically across the street for HK$19.00 for 4 hours.

Disliked: No complain, you get full value for the money you pay for the room.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was in the heart of Kowloon, lots of traffic, close to the subway.

Disliked: The bathroom is so small, you have to manuever around the door to get to the sink, and also the shower sits over the toilet. The blankets, I'm sure were not cleaned, and generally the cleanliness was subpar.

Check Availability