Website feedback

Reviews of Guangdong Guest House Hong Kong Hostel

B2, 5/F Block B, Chungking Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Hong Kong, Hong Kong China

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 81%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 93%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Changes/cancellations:
If you wish to re-schedule your booking, any arrival date or time changes or cancellation, please send e-mail to us 48hrs before the date of your booking. Phone call will not be acceptable. Otherwise the changes may not be available and 2 nights room rent will be charged.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hong Kong?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 81%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 93%

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Unlike many of the other budget options in Chungking Mansions, the host makes you feel welcome and makes himself available to you 24/7. This place also stands apart from the rest of Chungking Mansion hostels because it's the cleanest one I've seen, and the rooms have been well put together. As an expat living in China for 5 years, I've done my fair share of visa runs to Hong Kong and stayed in many places in Chungking Mansions. This is by far the best place I'ver stayed in there, and fully worth the extra $10 a night. compared to the others The fantastic location and great price (compred to other hotels in the area) make this a great option if you're in HK for a few days to see the sights.

Disliked: No dislikes, although people unfamilair with Hong Kong accomodation may feel the rooms are a bit small. This is normal for Hong Kong.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is located in a central area where many sightseeing places were accessible. Plus it is close to many amenities, metros and bus stops. The host was available to help us at all times.

Disliked: The elevators in the building was slow. We tried walking down the five flights of stairs but our big feet find the steps awkward.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Simon was very nice an accommodating about certain things and helpful when I got hurt. The property itself is located in a very dodgy building but Simon keeps things very clean. Do not let the smell of Indian food fool you.

Disliked: The exterior of the building (the main building, not the rooms themselves), having to wait for the elevator while it stopped on every single floor, and the cockroaches that crawled randomly around in the hall ways.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Really friendly staff, and a free upgrade.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Its very close to the avenue of the stars, well located, near to the metro station, in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, you can move easily from here to other places, the owner Simon is very friendly and work very hard to keep everything clean and working, I can say that we have a friend in him, he helped us in every question we have! Very nice person!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, don't get intimidated by the comments of the people outside the chunking mansions, they are just trying to work, nobody is going to try to steal anything from you.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Simon is super friendly and helpful! Every part of the stay was enjoyable and Simon made sure our room was clean every day! Definitely a welcoming experience and so close to everything.

Disliked: Liked everything, no complaints from me!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Simon, the owner, is one-of-a-kind host who will make you feel that you're actually a guest staying in his home.

Disliked: In line with HK property in general, space is quite limited. Didn't bother us as we looked at it as "cozy" instead of "small".

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: THE ROOM IS VERY CLEAN.THE SPACE IS REASONABLE WITH THE PRICE.THE BATH ROOM IS VERY CLEAN.

Disliked: ALL IS GOOD

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Guangdong Guest House has simply fantastic location, short walking distance from the ferry to the Hong Kong Island. It is located in a rather strange and very busy building but we never had any problem and there is always sequrity. We took a deluxe room which was VERY clean, aditionally it was cleaned every day, even the sheets. It was very well decorated, what gave a larger impression to a pretty small room (a standard in HK). The owner had thought it through very well and every detail, like light and mirros, made a nice, fresh and clean impression.The owner was very nice and helpful, basically always around. He gave us a very good explanation of the buidlding and evacuation exits. We would highly recommend this Guest House for your stay in HK!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The proprietor Simon is exceptional, first time having fire safety escape routes being brought up and direction to go.Friendly staff.Free telephone both in HK and out of HK

Disliked: Slight cramp

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability