Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Capitan Tom Antigua Hostel

Calsada Santa Lucia norte #10 B, Antigua, Guatemala

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 83%

Safety 83%

Staff 88%

Value 81%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Only cash accepted on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 13:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Antigua?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 83%

Safety 83%

Staff 88%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Nice homey feel, hostel is close to the supermarket, the artisanal markets, central square and everything else.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Best atmosphere, everthing was okay.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Friendly backpacker hostel and helpful staff.

Disliked: Messy bathrooms and very basic beds.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Tanya was so helpful, she looked after our booking to ensure we arrived safe and well. When I got an infection from Mexico, she offered to take me to a free hospital if I needed it (luckily I didn't). But even then tried to keep bookings to one room so that I had space and could relax in a dorm. Tanya, Vlad, and Winger also helped to book any bus we needed for less than cost price and looked after us for each stage of our journey. I'd definitely recommend staying here, very friendly and good honest people. We always felt safe.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The woman was so nice and helpful. She showed us the garden on her roof which was really cool and offered us free tea and coffee when we came in soaking wet from the rain. She was always willing to help.

Disliked: The atmosphere was not what I wanted as a younger traveler from a hostel. There was nobody really hanging out and it wasn't very clean. For what I paid it was not bad and would recommend it to someone maybe staying a bit longer on a budget as there is a full kitchen available. But if you're a young traveler passing through for a few days and want to meet and hang out with other young, cool travelers, this isn't really your spot.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were present at all times and were on hand if any help was needed. They were also friendly. If you're looking for somewhere relaxed and quiet, it's certainly that as it's out of the way down a quiet street without being too far from the centre. I had a dorm room to myself and was one of only 2 or 3 guests in the whole property. If that's what you're after, then it would certainly suit you. Other hostels in Antigua I have visited seemed busier.

Disliked: The staff seemed to argue a lot. The hostel was extremely quiet in terms of guests which, as a solo traveller, wasn't what I was looking for in terms of getting to meet people but I did enjoy unbroken sleep on all nights- I suppose better no one than a loud snorer.I don't know whether this was because of a guest or staff but I would have liked to relax and watch a movie but the TV was in use at almost all times with TV and films in Spanish which, as a non-spanish speaker, I didn't feel able to join in watching. My fault for not speaking Spanish I guess but I did feel a bit excluded from it. For that reason I was either out or in my room for the most part.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The roof top was nice, could see the volcanoes and chill. Kitchen stocked well with spices. Coffee and tea available all day

Disliked: Not many other travelers so not much atmosphere. The couple that runs the hostel are broken up so their always bickering which is awkward.

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Absolutely nothing!!!!

Disliked: I arrived at the hostel and the guy was so drunk...I thought it was a joke of a drunk street beggar...2 days there and nobody cleaned the bathroom...No information about nothing...Terrible smell...Weird place...I have travelled a lot and this is the worst hostel ever!!!!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Nice friendly owners, Tanya and Vladimir are the best!!So great roof terrasse, with volcanes' views, good possibilities to visit other parts from there too.Good information givers

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice atmosphere, smells sometimes because of the market.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability